Driver Question

robinthehood

Hacker
Visit site
Hello there, I am quite new to this game (been playing 3 months) and I am looking to treat myself to a new driver. I went to American golf and tested quite a few out and the assistant said i'd be best with a Taylormade M4, my swing speed was averaging 125mph. Looking on this site it seems American golf get a mixed review and I don't want to part with all that money if its not a suitable driver for a beginner.

your thoughts are most welcome

Cue_147

Hacker
Visit site
American golf are good because you can try most of the different manufactures equipment.

Once you like the looks of a driver and hit it good, i would then go to your local golf pro for another fitting and to purchase.

Crazyface

Tour Winner
Visit site
Get on e bay. Get a second hand one. Ping K15 are good as are Adams Superspeed. Buy one try it, sell it, get another, try it, sell it, get another, try it , sell it etc etc, until you finally find one that works for you. It can be a long process. Have fun buying and selling.

Orikoru

Tour Winner
Visit site
If you've only been playing 3 months I don't think you really need to go out and buy a £300 driver. It's up to you of course, but I'd maybe go to an outlet store where you can try out some second hand drivers as well. I suspect a 2016 M2 would be just as good and about a third of the price, for example. Not to mention a Ping G30/G25 or something like that.

D

Deleted member 16999

American golf are good because you can try most of the different manufactures equipment.

Once you like the looks of a driver and hit it good, i would then go to your local golf pro for another fitting and to purchase.

^This all day^

If you want a new driver and can afford it, it’s your money go and buy one, spoil yourself.

robinthehood

Hacker
Visit site

In all honesty I didn't find much difference between them, but did like the look of the M4. Hadnt thought of the local pro shop.

hairball_89

Club Champion
Visit site