Do all PGA pros teach the same if you are new?

Dilly75

Visit site
I started playing golf properly about 2 months ago during the summer holidays with my 15 year old. I found I was ok for a newbie. 215 yd drives at the range were my max but are generally straight and I am quite successful at high wedge shots over obstacles on to the green etc. But I have been for a lesson because my son said I was only using my arms.

My lesson was ok in that the coach was fine but I feel like Ive gone from a right hand player to a left.

My grip has been changed and I expected this weirdness to happen but it has got me thinking about coaching of new players.

Will the pros at local courses all be following the same protocol to teach a newbie like me or if you go to different places you will get told different ways?

If its the latter how do you know you are being taught correctly?

Many thanks

jim8flog

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
My lesson was ok in that the coach was fine but I feel like Ive gone from a right hand player to a left.

Many thanks
Generally speaking it is the left hand/arm that supplies the power and the right controls direction. It can be a bit odd for a beginner but it is worth it in the long run.

I am a long term player who had lessons from the off and they served me well. Been through a number of teachers through the years and they all teach the same basics.

SwingsitlikeHogan

Major Champion
Visit site
The basic principles are the same in respect of grip and to a lesser extent (in my experience) stance, but as far as the golf swing is concerned there are different philosophies and hence methods to how ‘hitting the ball to make it do what you want it to do’ is taught. Bottom line is that all we are doing is learning to do a very simple thing - that is to hit a ball to make it go where we want it to go in the way we want it. The ball doesn’t know about backswing and follow-through.