Discrimination

Ron McDonnell

Visit site
I am 80 years old with significant medical and mobility problems, however, I can still score in the mid 80’s gross. I have been playing since I was 15 years old and my handicap is 15.My golf club has blue lines across the fairways up to 30 mitres out in some cases with signs there to stay on the cart path until the next tee.
I presented a doctors letter and asked to be able to drive my cart to the 10 mitre mark from the green and I was denied. There are 400 people on the waiting list to join the club.
All I have asked for is to drive outside the 10 mitres around the green to help me with my health problems. The Match Committee, Captain and Vice Captain are not able to judge my physical situation in my opinion.
Any comments as golf is an inclusive sport and I think I am being discriminated against.

Mandofred

Visit site
Glad I don't have to make that call......I can see it either way. From the golf course point of view if letting you "break the rules", others would start doing the same thing. Golfers are terrible about following the rules like that. Same during the winter when a lot of courses put out lines to keep trolleys away from the greens.....plenty of people just ignore them and it's why I often just carry during the sloppy months.....and most golf courses that I see around here completely ban riding machines during the winter.

Oddsocks

Ryder Cup Winner
Visit site
It’s great that you’ve had 65 years of golf and to maintain that Hc, we done sir.

With regards to the discrimination, I don’t see this as the case they are protecting the course and allowing it for one opens the gates. “ why can he drive there when we can’t in buggies “

I wouldn’t look at the club to be at fault, more modern society with no common sense and a high level of entitlement.

Slab

Occasional Tour Caddy
Visit site
Hi Ron, I'm kinda with the guys above