Can you drop even though you have played a provisional

anotherdouble

Journeyman Pro
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
3,242
Visit site
Hi folks we have a par 3 that has a water hazard short of the green. Local rule for this hole allows a provisional if you think tee shot ends in hazard. My question is if you are virtually certain the ball has rolled back into the hazard, because you didn't see it bounce from the tee and it's a closely mown bank between hazard and green and you can't find the ball, despite playing a provisional can you drop a ball in the usual way for ball in a water hazard
Cheers
 
Hi folks we have a par 3 that has a water hazard short of the green. Local rule for this hole allows a provisional if you think tee shot ends in hazard. My question is if you are virtually certain the ball has rolled back into the hazard, because you didn't see it bounce from the tee and it's a closely mown bank between hazard and green and you can't find the ball, despite playing a provisional can you drop a ball in the usual way for ball in a water hazard
Cheers

Think doesn't come into it, you and your playing partners need to be certain that it indeed went into the hazard. No maybes
 
Because from the tee you can't be sure where the ball has finished and sometimes the short grass is allowed to grow so until you walk to the area you don't know length of grass. When shaved for big comps it will have a different result for other times when you can't be certain it has rolled back. Hence local rule allowing provisional when possibly in a water hazard
 
Because from the tee you can't be sure where the ball has finished and sometimes the short grass is allowed to grow so until you walk to the area you don't know length of grass. When shaved for big comps it will have a different result for other times when you can't be certain it has rolled back. Hence local rule allowing provisional when possibly in a water hazard

but you need to be CERTAIN that it went in the hazard full stop no maybes no matter how long or short the grass is who knows the ball might have plugged and if so then what do you end up saying it must have went into the water ?
 
but you need to be CERTAIN that it went in the hazard full stop no maybes no matter how long or short the grass is who knows the ball might have plugged and if so then what do you end up saying it must have went into the water ?

I assume youre deliberately omitting the word virtually before shouting CERTAIN? If youre gonna be a rule pedant at least use the right terms
 
This is the Local Rule. The last line would seem to apply.

[h=3]5. Water Hazards - Playing Ball Provisionally Under Rule 26-1[/h]If a water hazard (including a lateral water hazard) is of such size and shape and/or located in such a position that:

(i)
it would be impracticable to determine whether the ball is in the hazard or to do so would unduly delay play, and

(ii)
if the original ball is not found, it is known or virtually certain that it is in the water hazard,

the Committee may introduce a Local Rule permitting the play of a ball provisionally under Rule 26-1. The ball is played provisionally under any of the applicable options under Rule 26-1 or any applicable Local Rule. In such a case, if a ball is played provisionally and the original ball is in a water hazard, the player may play the original ball as it lies or continue with the ball played provisionally, but he may not proceed under Rule 26-1 with regard to the original ball.

In these circumstances, the following Local Rule is recommended:

"If there is doubt whether a ball is in or is lost in the water hazard (specify location), the player may play another ball provisionally under any of the applicable options in Rule 26-1.

If the original ball is found outside the water hazard, the player must continue play with it.

If the original ball is found in the water hazard, the player may either play the original ball as it lies or continue with the ball played provisionally under Rule 26-1.

If the original ball is not found or identified within the five-minute search period, the player must continue with the ball played provisionally.
 
Top