Bogey comps - why are they qualifiers?

timd77

Assistant Pro
Visit site
Played in a bogey comp at the weekend, didn’t play very well and finished 5 down.

I’m not very experienced in these, I’ve only played in 1 before, but to me it’s matchplay against the course, a net par is a half, a net birdie is a win, and a net bogey is a loss. So I whenever i could only score a net bogey I picked up. Now just noticed the score has been entered on England golf. Is this normal?

For me it shouldn’t be a qualifier because your approach is totally different. If you’ve got a long putt or a chip for a net par, you’re really going for it, lags won’t get you anything. Similarly, a net eagle means nothing, so you’ll lag it to make sure you get the net birdie.

Orikoru

Tour Winner
Visit site
I played in one once - actually didn't realise it was a 'bogey' at the time and didn't know what one was. Another player in the group kind of guided me in the scoring. At the end I thought exactly the same as you. Pointless making it a qualifier because that means you have to putt out just like you would in Stableford. Mentality is different as well, because in bogey you'd be encouraged to putt aggressively for nett par, given that nett bogey is no different to nett double or triple in that format (if I've remembered it correctly). But that's entirely at odds with playing for a qualifying score where every shot counts.

Last edited:

wjemather

Visit site
Played in a bogey comp at the weekend, didn’t play very well and finished 5 down.

I’m not very experienced in these, I’ve only played in 1 before, but to me it’s matchplay against the course, a net par is a half, a net birdie is a win, and a net bogey is a loss. So I whenever i could only score a net bogey I picked up. Now just noticed the score has been entered on England golf. Is this normal?