Beginner Blues

LShillabeer

Visit site
Can anyone advise which course would be the best one to go to for beginning leasons??? Never had a leason and desperate to learn!!! Anywhere near Bournemouth please.
Thanks!

haplesshacker

Money List Winner
mid-life-crisis-man.blogspot.co.uk
I started playing (for the first time!) in the Bournemouth area back in 1990.

The short course at Hengistbury Head is great for starters as there are a lack of so called experianced golfers around to moan at the inevitable wayward shots, it's only short but good for accuracy. We then moved onto Meyrick Park and Quens Park courses. Being run by local authority, or at least it was then, also lacks thre 'snobbery' of other courses. West Moors at the Moors Valley Country Park has expanded to 18 holes, (it was only nine when I was around), is good value I believe. As for clubs in the area, Ferndown has two good courses, (Golf Links Road), and Parkstone is reputedly very good as well. The Purbeck is also supposed to be very good, but a bitch of a place to get to in the summer, (Sandbanks ferry, or all the way around Holes Bay).

But getting back to the original point, the course at Barrack Road next to the river between B'mth and Christchurch is also a good place to 'learn' your skills.

To add to it, don't be afraid to tackle 'bigger' courses, I held off for a year after re-starting 2 years ago, as I believed that I wasn't good enough. But since taking on these longer challenges my game has improved remarkably. We all have to start somewhere, and as soon as the old duffers that have been playing for 20 years (and still can't get below 20 h'cap), realize that their club can only survive with new blood the better.

Go and enjoy yourself, and take plenty of balls! Especially at Meyrick Park.

shanker

Q-School Graduate
Visit site