Asking an opponent not to mark his ball...

I see where you're coming from but this isn't a prior agreement to waive the rules, it's one player deciding to overlook a breach by his opponent.

I've just found the reference on the RandA site, it's Note 1 in Rule 2-5 as below:

"Note 1: A player may disregard a breach of the Rules by his opponent provided there is no agreement by the sides to waive a Rule (Rule 1-3). "

It does make sense, your in a match play and your opponent breaks a rule, you are going to win the hole anyway and you see an obscure rule broken - why pull him on it and risk a row!

A few weeks ago in. 4bbb match one of our opponents took down half a tree with practise swings he was pretty much out of the hole, why would we call a penalty?
 
So can I ask my partner in either 4bbb stableford to leave his ball while i chip on from the fringe or in 4bbb matchplay or is it oth a no go


Stableford is a form of stroke play (Rule 32-1) so agreeing to leave a ball that might assit another competitor would be a DQ under Rule 22-1. Rule 31 covers various aspects of how the Rules apply in 4 ball stroke play. Rule 31-7a indicates that DQ of either partner in the side under Rule 22-1 would result in the side being DQ'd.

As indicated above, in match play there is no penalty under Rule 22-1 for agreeing to leave a ball that might assist another player.

However the other side may ask that the ball is lifted (Rule 22-1b). Decision 30-3f/11 Request to Lift Ball That Might Assist Partner Not Honoured, covers the situation if you refuse:

"Q. A and B are playing C and D in a four-ball match. B's ball is near the hole in a position to serve as a backstop for A's ball. C requests B to lift his ball. B does not comply and A putts. What is the ruling?

A. B is disqualified for the hole for failing to comply with Rule 22-1. If A's ball strikes B's ball, A would also be disqualified from the hole since B's infringement assisted A – Rule 30-3f. If the balls do not collide, A is not penalised."

Hope I've got that all right.
 
Stableford is a form of stroke play (Rule 32-1) so agreeing to leave a ball that might assit another competitor would be a DQ under Rule 22-1. Rule 31 covers various aspects of how the Rules apply in 4 ball stroke play. Rule 31-7a indicates that DQ of either partner in the side under Rule 22-1 would result in the side being DQ'd.

As indicated above, in match play there is no penalty under Rule 22-1 for agreeing to leave a ball that might assist another player.

However the other side may ask that the ball is lifted (Rule 22-1b). Decision 30-3f/11 Request to Lift Ball That Might Assist Partner Not Honoured, covers the situation if you refuse:

"Q. A and B are playing C and D in a four-ball match. B's ball is near the hole in a position to serve as a backstop for A's ball. C requests B to lift his ball. B does not comply and A putts. What is the ruling?

A. B is disqualified for the hole for failing to comply with Rule 22-1. If A's ball strikes B's ball, A would also be disqualified from the hole since B's infringement assisted A – Rule 30-3f. If the balls do not collide, A is not penalised."

Hope I've got that all right.

Mashie, you're a star.

And thank you for refreshing my memory. Its amazing that time brings uncertainty in things you've already read and learned. Perhaps a very good reminder that we all need to refresh our memories on occasion.
 
Top