Are you a counter or not?

Do you always know your exact score to par?

• YES

Votes: 39 35.8%
  • NO

Votes: 39 35.8%
  • A bit of both

Votes: 31 28.4%

• Total voters

Farneyman

Tour Winner
Visit site
When playing a round of golf either social or competitive do you know exactly your score to par?

The reason I ask is since I started I have never made a conscious effort to keep my score as I played. When I started playing at my club the card would be full of 7's,8's and 9's. At this stage knowing how poorly I was scoring as I went along would have really annoyed the competitive side of me.

Since then I have managed to play with the same mindset and not kept track of my score until the end when I double check before signing. Partners will tell me my score after nine holes but I seem to be able to forget this simply enough and carry on again through the back nine oblivious to exact score.

During all of this time I will always know if I am scoring well or not but not the exact score.

Recently I had a chat with some friends and they were saying I need to start keeping count etc so you can attack or defend depending on your score.

Fast forward to my first sub 80 round on Saturday and knowing I was playing well I decided to tally up my score on the 16th tee...+7 for 15...off a 13 handicap. Obviously I then knew I was playing/scoring really well and had a great chance of getting a cut. These thoughts were quickly followed by a duffed tee shot off the 16th tee, resulting in a lost ball and a triple bogey 7. Managed to steady the ship to go par par on 17 and 18.

So would I have scored better if I hadn't known my score??? Who knows???

Are there any players here who are able to play without knowing their exact score to par and do you really think this is something I need to start doing on a regular basis to get to single figures and below?

I think I know what most people will say but curious all the same. :)