Winter rules

Norrin Radd

Tour Winner
Visit site
When do they start at your place,do they have them in place at the start of October or are they weather driven ,I ask as being a taxi driver I picked a bunch of golfers and they were talking about one of the players in their competition yesterday was picking and placing because he said winter rules apply from Oct 1st.
So is there a date that winter rules apply or is it down to individual courses to apply them as and when they see fit.

D

Deleted member 16999

We’ve gone to preferred lies from today, teeing up and every comp non-qualifiers will be weather dependent, normally no later than mid nov.

Lord Tyrion

Money List Winner
Visit site
Ours happens after the captain 'drives out'. This year that is Oct 26th. They are all non qualifiers then until the drive in, around the beginning of April.

Just seen the post by Yant and I'm now wondering if that is our system as well, I just didn't realise 🤔.

YandaB

Visit site
Purely based on the weather, we get pick, clean and place on fairways, qualifiers continue through the winter. Ours started on 1st October until further notice, could mean that an Indian summer might see them revoked but more likely to remain in place until spring.

Robin Hood

Visit site
Started this week.
However not sure if it is a date or weather driven criteria.
Looking forward to winter tees and fairway mats, freezing weather, soggy conditions, losing your ball under leaves.
Aaaghh winter golf.

D

Deleted member 15344

Ours happens after the captain 'drives out'. This year that is Oct 26th. They are all non qualifiers then until the drive in, around the beginning of April.

Just seen the post by Yant and I'm now wondering if that is our system as well, I just didn't realise 🤔.

Why do they become non q because of winter rules ?
No such thing as winter "rules" is there?

Can a club just choose to make individual comps non-qualifiers?