Why is hitting a draw good?

leaney

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site
Evening all,

I've been playing for around 7 months, so I'm still new to the game.....but can somebody please tell me why people think that hitting a draw is good? What are the advantages?

My pro keeps saying that I hit a nice draw...but I haven't even though to ask why that's good.

Isn't it better to hit it straight?

Thanks gents

HawkeyeMS

Ryder Cup Winner
Visit site
Re: Why is hotting a draw good?

Hitting it accurately is better. I don't know why the draw gets so much attention but there are plenty of tour pro's that hit a fade so I wouldn't get too hung up about it

B

birdieman

All good golfers know to play either a fade or draw to take one side of the course out of play, you increase your percentages of hitting the target that way.
Other than that a draw will go roughly a club longer than a fade, useful with a driver for extra yards. A draw comes from an in to out swing path which is more pure and physically economic than a fade action.
A draw is a thing of beauty that not so many players can do. Every man and his dog can hit a fade.

Oddsocks

Ryder Cup Winner
Visit site

draws longer if controled, but bounces violently when ground the ground is hard, and its harder to stop on greens, i spent years trying to get rid of my fade becuase i wanted a longer draw, once i got it, i couldnt control it and would randomly turn into snaphooks, for that reason, its gone and ive spent 2.5 years getting rid of it.

timchump

Q-School Graduate
Visit site

a draw leads to good swing fundamentals, in to out swing path, extension in the follow through, hand release etc

fading the opposite, swinging across your body, chicken wings, holding the club face open all undesirable

i think this is why teaching pros encourage us amatuers to hit a draw

HomerJSimpson

Hall of Famer
Visit site