How quick should I be progressing?

James33uk

Visit site
Hi there

I’m just a beginner after some advice, any reply really appreciated and welcomed

I’m 35 and have played golf without lessons on and off most summers since around 18. I’ve never considered myself good during these periods and every aspect from grip to hitting ball was wrong.

I decided this year I’m going to have lessons and play all year and continue to do so instead of just playing golf in the nice weather.
After the lesson I was hitting the ball like I’ve never done before and it felt amazing haha!!

I have had around 7 lessons upto now and been driving range/9 hole courses most days over say 2 months.

My question is…
How long realistically will it take for me to get a handicap around 18-20?
I’m not a member of a club or have a handicap but I will definitely do so in a couple of months.
I’ve done 2 full courses since my lessons and i finished an average at around +40

I feel the first month I was hitting the ball better and consistently than what I am doing now after having more lessons.
Is it normal to have like information/playing overload and sort of lose consistency of what I’ve learned already? (Not that I had much anyway) I’m sort of beating myself up after having such a good first month to now not performing as well as I was after more lessons

So yeah, the question is even though I’ve only been playing properly with lessons etc for 2 months and shooting +40 on the full 18
How long realistically will it take for me to get a handicap around 18-20?

Look forward to your replies

Last edited:

Orikoru

Tour Winner
Visit site
The only way to properly improve is to play regularly. The lessons will help you get the ball round, but to make scores and get the handicap level down you need a short game, chipping & putting, and that comes with experience. If you can play once a week you'll start to see notable improvements within a few months I should think.

PJ87

Journeyman Pro
Visit site