when do you apply your handicap change

bigslice

Tour Winner
Visit site
player plays away on the saturday. on the sunday the player states before his round (stableford comp) on his home course that his handicap maybe up 0.1 but the result from yesterday isnt up. he signs in with handicap from friday morn. he signs the card and posts it in the box. on monday night when looking at cards he says his card is wrong and his handicap is higher and wants to claim 2 extra points!!!
anyone?

AmandaJR

Money List Winner
Visit site
I thought it was only when it is official? So if you score better than SSS between comps and no official result you cut yourself to the SSS but can never add anything to your handicap...

I am very new at the job though so await the experts with interest.

Val

Ryder Cup Winner
Visit site
I was always told that your handicap should be changed after the round if you are playing again as your handicap is your responsibility too. If you play a 36 hole comp and you shoot the lights out in round one you should be cut for round 2 unless their is a ruling before the comp to suggest the same handicap for both rounds which to be fair is unusual.

bigslice

Tour Winner
Visit site
im looking for a handicap secretary with years knowledge and is prepared to have a phonecall with me later this evening. as there is more to this story but i dont want to write it on a public forum (very serious)

BTatHome

Tour Winner
Visit site
As Amanda said, if your handicap is being cut (you work from the SSS if no official CSS is available), then you apply it yourself but you shouldn't increase by 0.1 though.

Val

Ryder Cup Winner
Visit site
BS, it's worth highlighting that the player should only be signing for a correct score at every hole and it is also his responsibility to report away scores if he has done so properly then there should be no arguements but it looks like the scenario aint as straight forward as that.

Val

Ryder Cup Winner
Visit site