What's The Big Thing In Golf

HomerJSimpson

Hall of Famer
Visit site
I've been playing this daft game for nearly 40 years on and off and it has changed beyond recognition. I can remember a number of major changes that have come in to change it (for the better) and in my opinion the game changes have been

Metal woods
Cavity back irons
Golf ball quality (and choice)
The availability of decent custom fitting

What have been the biggest changes you've seen and what is the next big thing? Is it simply up to golf manufacturers to keep coming up with revolutionary gear (and what will that be) or do you think golf evolve in a different way and if so is up to the PGA, and clubs to be the driving force. As life become more technologically based will the younger generations get put off playing this game which takes too long, isn't "funky" or downloadable.

Papas1982

Tour Winner
Banned
Visit site
I've been playing this daft game for nearly 40 years on and off and it has changed beyond recognition. I can remember a number of major changes that have come in to change it (for the better) and in my opinion the game changes have been

Metal woods
Cavity back irons

What have been the biggest changes you've seen and what is the next big thing? Is it simply up to golf manufacturers to keep coming up with revolutionary gear (and what will that be) or do you think golf evolve in a different way and if so is up to the PGA, and clubs to be the driving force. As life become more technologically based will the younger generations get put off playing this game which takes too long, isn't "funky" or downloadable.

The biggest change for me, is the people playing.

On my estate, none of us would have dreamed of playing golf due to the image it portrayed. Now there are stil instances of this, but it is imo a lot more accessible than it used to be.