Water in bunker (ruling help needed)

Brendy is correct--free drop in the bunker.
Alternatively a penalty drop outside the bunker keeping the bunker between the ball and the flag.
 
playing shots out of water isn't too scary. i watched a video it says you got to play it like a bunker shot and get the water to throw the ball out of the stream/puddle i done it successfully 3 out of 3 times and im well chuffed :p
 
Yes-which i think is one of the silliest rules in the game. If the bunker is totally waterlogged i belive the bunker should be out of play.
 
playing shots out of water isn't too scary. i watched a video it says you got to play it like a bunker shot and get the water to throw the ball out of the stream/puddle i done it successfully 3 out of 3 times and im well chuffed :p
This only works if part of the ball is showing above the surface of the water. If it's totally submerged, it's not actually where you think it is (due to the refraction of light or some other jiggery pokery) so you'd be mad to try to hit it in that situation.
 
playing shots out of water isn't too scary. i watched a video it says you got to play it like a bunker shot and get the water to throw the ball out of the stream/puddle i done it successfully 3 out of 3 times and im well chuffed :p
This only works if part of the ball is showing above the surface of the water. If it's totally submerged, it's not actually where you think it is (due to the refraction of light or some other jiggery pokery) so you'd be mad to try to hit it in that situation.

I have done it with the water up to 12 inches above the ball. the video was a faldo video showing how to do it in them conditions too!
 
Surely playing a ball that is 12 inches under water, you're not going to get much distance (I may be wrong having never been tempted to attempt this)and surely the safest option is to take a drop where the penalty will only ever be one shot.
 
I have done it with the water up to 12 inches above the ball. the video was a faldo video showing how to do it in them conditions too!
You're not serious?! How on earth do you manage to get the club on the ball with any accuracy after it's travelled through a foot of water?? Surely the resistance of the water against the club means that it's virtually impossible to know where the clubhead's going to go, especially when you don't really know where the ball is?

Is there a clip of this Faldo video online by any chance??
 
Surely playing a ball that is 12 inches under water, you're not going to get much distance (I may be wrong having never been tempted to attempt this)and surely the safest option is to take a drop where the penalty will only ever be one shot.
your right you dont get much distance at all. When iive played out of 2 inches with a 5 iron and got the ball flying. in the deeper water the ball only went 10 yards. but thats all i needed any way. i played out of water for practice sake and to muck about it paid off on these occasions. I did see a garcia video out of water but not sure how deep. i'll look for it now!
 
I had this problem last year in a medal, foolishly thought you got a free drop for some reason and ended up disqualifying myself after finishing the round.

I think the best desicion would be to make the bunker GUR.
 
Sorry Toad,

That is not an option in the rules, the only exception to this occurs when the bunker is being reconstructed then a local rule can be placed at the starters saying any reconstructed bunker is to be considered GUR AND through the green, this then allows a free drop outside the trap at the nearest point of relief +1

Regards
TM
 
Yeh you can try and play it or if you dont want to get wet you have to take a penalty drop outside on line of entry bunkers are just like hazards, Bad rule punished for the poor weather ouch, come on R&A change the rule!!!
 
Top