Was I correct to play on??

Jahmoo

Assistant Pro
Joined
Mar 15, 2009
Messages
225
Location
Between Basingstoke & Reading
Visit site
Hi Guys,

Firstly, sorry not been about, Pooter crashed, bloody Norton Crap!!

Any Way.....

Rules question, just for you geeks out their ;)

I played Worplesdon GC Wednesday, got to the 18 Tee, Tee'd up the ball, took a practice swing, then another, though was only looking at position at top, when I released the swing.....you guessed it, Club hit ball :eek: It shot of to the right, 20yds.....I looked at playing partners who were desperatly trying to see where it was :D I told them what happened.....one of the guys said Mulligan :D I said no thanks and left ball where it landed and took second shot.

Did I do correct, as I thought, as I was not intending to make a swing at the ball, it was not a shot, even though I hit the ball by mistake.

Answers on a post card to the Shite Golfer over here :D
 

HomerJSimpson

Hall of Famer
Joined
Aug 6, 2007
Messages
71,183
Location
Bracknell - Berkshire
Visit site
My understanding is that you did not address the ball and therefore did not breach rule 18-2 (b) (page 82 of the rule book) and as a result would have been entitled to play another or the rofginal from the tee without penalty.

Had you taken your address and the ball had moved after that point it is a one shot penalty and the ball must be replaced unless the movement of the ball occurs after the player has begun the stroke or made the backward movement of the club for the stroke and the stroke is made
 

backwoodsman

Tour Winner
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
6,851
Location
sarf Lunnon
Visit site
Answer is no, you weren't correct to play on. In fact, it was badly wrong to have played on.

Homer is right that you would not have incurred a penalty by re-teeing it. The following is from the R&A "Decisions" book

Q. Before playing from the teeing ground, a player took a practice swing in the course of which he accidentally struck and moved the teed ball with his club. Did the player play a stroke or incur a penalty?

A. The player did not make a stroke - see definition of "Stroke". Since the ball was not in play - see definition of "ball in play" - he incurred no penalty under rule 18-2a. The player must put a ball into play from the teeing ground.


But....

By playing on - and because your ball was not the ball in play - you played a wrong ball and incurred penalties (lose the hole in match play; 2 strokes in stroke play & disqualification if you don't correct the error).

Upshot is - to avoid penalty you had to re-tee it.
 

Cernunnos

Journeyman Pro
Joined
Jul 15, 2008
Messages
2,393
Location
Burton. Staffs (Near WulfricPoint)
Visit site
Try convincing your playing partners that the practice swing wasn't an intended stroke... You'd have a hell of a time.

But btw Homer is right.

I'd suggest in future standing somewhat further away or several yards behind the ball to take your paractice swings, before moving into the ball, to take address. Will avoid any confusion in future.
 

Atticus_Finch

Journeyman Pro
Joined
Mar 22, 2007
Messages
1,566
Location
Heartlands
Visit site
Sorry to hijack....

what is the ruling with practise putting. I "caught" the ball once in practise putt and called it as a stroke. Is that right?

No. If you accidentaly "catch" the ball with a practice putt, it does not count as a stroke. You have to replace it to the original position.
Davis Love made this mistake at The Players in 1997, and I quote....
"Davis Love accidentally hit his ball while taking a practice putt at The Players' Championship. Not returning it to its original spot incurred a one-stroke penalty and thus Love should have signed for a five and not the four which went on his card. A tie for seventh and $105,000 went begging."

http://www.golftoday.co.uk/news/yeartodate/news00/disqualifications.html
 

Jahmoo

Assistant Pro
Joined
Mar 15, 2009
Messages
225
Location
Between Basingstoke & Reading
Visit site
Cheers Guys, appreciated.

I did not address the ball, it was a practise swing, that much I will be honest about, with the ruling in place I blobbed the hole anyhow, so did not score, as I was still shocked of my play. I could have re Tee'd the ball and played on, as mentioned, my playing partners would have strusted me, but as was, I played on.

I hope not to ever have to use that ruling....ever, will stand well clear as usualy do.

CHEERS!!
 
Top