US Open 2016

I see that Lee Westwood is 6 over after 6, what's the cause?
Is it bad tee shots, approach shots, short game or what?

All of the above.

I blame the cranked up pressure for not having won a major, if he had won one 20 yrs ago he might have had 5-6 by now but now they're harder than ever for him.

Its a shame really because like Monty they deserved at least one a piece.
 
Very, but did he just take 2 club lengths for free relief?

The commentator said he got the point where the flag is no longer obscured, then another club length and that is the NPR from which he can drop within another club length.
 
officials want shooting here

DJ and the official made a decision and now they want to review tv footage after he finishes. so no one knows exactly where they stand until after the round finishes
 
What on earth is going on?

This business with DJ is just bizarre. If they didn't have the greens running at such stupid speeds then there would never be an issue.

For a Major this is just a bit of a pantomime what with one thing and another.
 
Last edited:
officials want shooting here

DJ and the official made a decision and now they want to review tv footage after he finishes. so no one knows exactly where they stand until after the round finishes

The issue probably isn't about whether he addressed the ball but whether he actually caused it to move with his prior actions or touched the ball....

Edit - the problem they have is that following the TW incident where they ruled without discussing it with him, and the need to inform the player at the earliest opportunity that there is something to discuss, they have no choice.

He should be protected from the additional penalty (for not replacing) by the on green discussion but if there is evidence that he did cause the ball to move he would be subject to a penalty of 1 shot.
 
Last edited:
I don't think they can think he grounded the club if they've seen what we have.

I'm wondering if maybe the ball touched the club? What's the rule there?
 
The issue probably isn't about whether he addressed the ball but whether he actually caused it to move with his prior actions or touched the ball....

the issue is some little rules official thinking this is his moment of glory - if they genuinely want to penalise him (based on evidence that says they shouldnt) then have the balls to penalise him, but to wait till after the round to review just so they can be the centre of attention before doing nothing is just ridiculous
 
Top