Tiger to be DQ'd?

I agree 100%

he gained sod all advantage and still had to hit the shot, if anything he was dealt a kick in the nutz by hitting the flag. There are certain aspects and attitudes in golf that really put me off it as a sport.

But he did gain an advantage by using his bread n' butter shot which he can put on a dinner plate by taking it 2 yards back, nothing about the lie, it was distance related decision made by him!

Augusta have embarrassed themselves with this, Tiger should withdraw.
 
http://www.randa.org/en/RandA/News/News/2011/April/Rule-Change.aspx

as i say, not convinced that it should apply here but it does give them some latitude
How on earth do you decide whether a player knew or not that he had incurred an infringement? Woods must have know that the two yards he added were to benefit him as it was the optimum distance he was looking for.
Tiger Woods has cheated and thinks he can get away with it because its him,how right he is......
 
question then. If he goes on to win despite the 2 stroke penalty does that mean he doesnt deserve it and no one will class it as a major win then?

(I dont think he will anyway and in fact probably would hope himself he doesnt now)

I don't think he would deserve it, it would be a great comeback but he shouldn't have been there to make the comeback. If Tiger has any kahunas he would DQ himself, he'll know deep down he got it wrong.
 
If you replay the shot you have to replay the shot not move somewhere else and olay it from there.
Tiger didn't want to go to the drop zone as it was wet.
He could have dropped right on the edge of the water but didn't.
He chose to replay the shot but failed to do so....
 
It will be interesting now wether Tiger handles the situation well,knowing what he has done
will taint any victory.
It has caused a major debate on here,so im sure it will cause a major debate
around Augusta.
 
hence why I bow to the foums expertise in these matters.

I still think asking for him to be dq'd is a tad pants though. Anyway 2 shot penalty it is so lets move on

Go Tiger :thup:
a
Agreed.He's broke the rules and been given a two shot penalty.End of .wonder if everyone would be saying the same if it was mclroy .....doubt it
 
How on earth do you decide whether a player knew or not that he had incurred an infringement? Woods must have know that the two yards he added were to benefit him as it was the optimum distance he was looking for.

In this instance I agree, hence why I say not conviced it should apply

In the Harrington situation for example, he had no way of knowing his ball had moved but they showed it had clearly on tv, thats what the rule was really brought in for but the augusta committee are stretching it to apply here.

The statement being released basically says they thing the drop was OK but Tiger then opened his gob in the interview lol. Gl getting an interview with Woods straight after a round in future!
 
there was only two options that are fair.

1) its decided that he dopped it close enough (no penalty)

or

2) DQ


he could say i dropped it as close as possible without putting it in the divot.
 
I don't think he would deserve it, it would be a great comeback but he shouldn't have been there to make the comeback. If Tiger has any kahunas he would DQ himself, he'll know deep down he got it wrong.


He doesn't need to know deep down Val, the Tournament Committee have told him he got it wrong, they just don't have the guts to enforce the correct penalty...
This is so wrong..
He x
 
The way I'm reading this new ruling is as follows...

New rules state that 'if the Committee is satisfied that the competitor could not reasonably have known or discovered the facts resulting in his breach of the Rules, it would be justified under Rule 33-7 in waiving the disqualification penalty prescribed by Rule 6-6d.'

Daily Mail

Now if Tiger didn't deliberately break the rule then he hasn't done anything wrong has he?

Can someone explain where I'm getting mixed up?
 
It's a shame this has happened like this, the masters is an awesome major and this proves certain players are bigger than the tournament.

Poor show but the show must go on
 
Well if you read the official statement it appears the committee ruled on the drop whilst Tiger was still on the course. Subsequently he signed for the scorte. Only after that was it brought to their attention the interview he gave.

If and its a pretty big if this is true then I think the 2 shot penalty is correct and under the new rule they shouldnt DQ.

Still think its a pretty big if they had ruled though
 
Well if you read the official statement it appears the committee ruled on the drop whilst Tiger was still on the course. Subsequently he signed for the scorte. Only after that was it brought to their attention the interview he gave.

If and its a pretty big if this is true then I think the 2 shot penalty is correct and under the new rule they shouldnt DQ.

Still think its a pretty big if they had ruled though

https://twitter.com/iaincartergolf/status/323080716466397185/photo/1
 
Top