Tiger to be DQ'd?

But he did gain an advantage as he was able to play the exact same shot knowing that if he hit it correctly it would land short of the pin rather than clattering it.

I'd sooner not see him DQ'd but he has admitted to an incorrect drop and signed an incorrect card, it's black and white to me.

On another point about how close his ball was to his previous divot (assuming that was his previous divot) though the replays show the ball was close, it might have rolled down the hill towards it after the drop, has anybody seen footage of the actual drop?

In the rules, gaining an advantage means something explicit, such as a better lie or avoiding a hazard. It is not assumed that players can measure their shots to the exact yard.
 
I've no doubt that Tiger will be asked his intention when he played from where he did and from what he has already said, it doesn't sound as if the answer is going to be good for him.

here is where the scope for real problems lies - if TW decides to clarify what he said earlier as 'I went back to where I played it from with, as I stated previously, the intention of taking 2 yards off my shot the second time" and puts any confusion over the exact words he previously used down to just having walked off a very long (slow) stressfull round......he stays in without penalty and the world will be split between those who believe it's all fair and those scratching their heads!

maybe I'm in la la land, but I actually think the TW is bigger than this - we will see.
 
First time I've had a look at this, other than the live coverage (I didn't notice at the time) if there's no photo trickery there it's not even close!

Tiger was making no effort to be close to the spot. Clearly he thought he could go backas far as he wished.
 
Was there not a chage to tour rules a year or two ago about unintentional rules violations being noticed after the fact by TV or spectators ?
What was it ?
That's true, the rule change was specifically to allow the officials to add the penalty to the players score, without incurring the DQ penalty.

This could be the get out clause the officials have this time.
 
Was there not a chage to tour rules a year or two ago about unintentional rules violations being noticed after the fact by TV or spectators ?
What was it ?


It was to do with intentional and unintentionally infringements, it was after padraig got d'qd for his ball oscillating an ion and being picked up on HD, and camillio kicking a divot out of the way after a drop.
Both resulted in dq but now I think padraig would be 2 shot pen as unintentional.
 
It was to do with intentional and unintentionally infringements, it was after padraig got d'qd for his ball oscillating an ion and being picked up on HD, and camillio kicking a divot out of the way after a drop.
Both resulted in dq but now I think padraig would be 2 shot pen as unintentional.

So will Tiger not be a two shot addition rather dq now ?
His playing from the wrong spot was clearly unintentional (due to his mistake about the point where the ball last crossed the hazard - stupid from a pro golfer - but still a mistake. He was not trying to get away with a deliberate cheat for the sake of a couple of yards).
 
Can't believe anyone would want to see Tiger DQ from the Masters it would be boring without him and golf would be half the sport it is now!!!
 
It's situations like this that IMO highlight massive issues with the rules of golf & its officials.

Having watched it he does seem to be a yard further back from his original divot but it was "further back" not further forward so no distance advantage gained. So to DQ him would be the right thing to do according to the rule book but totally against common sense IMO. The reason being is he could have gained a distance advantage within the rules and gone and dropped a ball in the drop zone about 60 yards closer to the home and he'd be playing within the rules! Really where is the common sense in that! Take a 60 yard advantage your ok Mr Woods but go back a yard to far and your out of here pal!

Then there's the issue with officiating, World No1 golfs biggest name of the modern era and his group would have had a top rules official on the course with them. Now we all no they can't intervene at time of incident ......

But fact remains if they want to be anal about the rules and to be fair they have to be then he has to be DQ sadly.

Some misunderstandings there, Fader.
Playing further back could well be advantageous - a better lie, a better angle, playing from the exact distance of your club, avoiding, as Crow points out, a repetition of the same shot.

The fact that there were other options available is entirely irrelevant to getting the one you choose wrong. Presumably Woods did not take either of the others because they were less advantageous to him.

A referee is obliged to intervene at the time if an infringement occurs (See Definitions: A “referee’’ is one who is appointed by the Committee to decide questions of fact and apply the Rules. He must act on any breach of a Rule that he observes or is reported to him.
 
So will Tiger not be a two shot addition rather dq now ?
His playing from the wrong spot was clearly unintentional (due to his mistake about the point where the ball last crossed the hazard - stupid from a pro golfer - but still a mistake. He was not trying to get away with a deliberate cheat for the sake of a couple of yards).

He would not be disqualified for breaching 27-1 by not playing as nearly as possible to where he last played. If the ruling is that he did breach the rule, he is penalised 2 strokes. His problem is that he has submitted his card without the penalty and has therefore submitted a score at the hole less than he took. He would be disqualified for that (Rule 6-6d)
 
Some misunderstandings there, Fader.
Playing further back could well be advantageous - a better lie, a better angle, playing from the exact distance of your club, avoiding, as Crow points out, a repetition of the same shot.

The fact that there were other options available is entirely irrelevant to getting the one you choose wrong. Presumably Woods did not take either of the others because they were less advantageous to him.

A referee is obliged to intervene at the time if an infringement occurs (See Definitions: A “referee’’ is one who is appointed by the Committee to decide questions of fact and apply the Rules. He must act on any breach of a Rule that he observes or is reported to him.

Absolutely spot on regarding advantage, he know the shot and knew 2 yards back would produce a better result so he gained an advantage
 
Absolutely spot on regarding advantage, he know the shot and knew 2 yards back would produce a better result so he gained an advantage

Not sure i agree. The first one had so much backspin i think it could have been just as close had it not hit the flag.

Moving back was probably a psychological thing as much as anything else.

And it doesn't look anything like 2 yards on the pictures i've seen.
 
He would not be disqualified for breaching 27-1 by not playing as nearly as possible to where he last played. If the ruling is that he did breach the rule, he is penalised 2 strokes. His problem is that he has submitted his card without the penalty and has therefore submitted a score at the hole less than he took. He would be disqualified for that (Rule 6-6d)

Yes. He has breached the rule and signed the card. But not intentionally and the breach only came to light after the fact. Penalty to be applied retrospectively rather than dg as used to be is a tour rule, not a R&A rule.
 
Codswallop. Its the day that we know rules apply to all.

And so they should.

Tiger was making no effort to be close to the spot. Clearly he thought he could go backas far as he wished.

Absolutely, why would he say he went back 2 yards further if he'd known he couldn't.

So will Tiger not be a two shot addition rather dq now ?
His playing from the wrong spot was clearly unintentional (due to his mistake about the point where the ball last crossed the hazard - stupid from a pro golfer - but still a mistake. He was not trying to get away with a deliberate cheat for the sake of a couple of yards).

He's signed for a wrong score, that's why DQ not for the drop itself.

Can't believe anyone would want to see Tiger DQ from the Masters it would be boring without him and golf would be half the sport it is now!!!

Nonsense, rules are rules and have to be applied to everyone. It would apply to any other player. The masters will still produce an exciting finish withor without tiger, I'm sure we all enjoyed last year.
 
But no dq if the rules state that he should receive a 2 shot retrospective penalty and play. Right ?

But they don't say that in the rules. He's signed for an incorrect score if they deem the drop illegal which they should do.

This is not a grey area IMO, 2 yards is not as close as possible to the original position.
 
Top