Tiger to be DQ'd?

Even as a massive fan I said this morning what ever happens Tiger should DQ himself but now this new rule has been bought up he hasn't done anything wrong and is well within the rules to play.

It's funny though if you are all saying he has still broke the rules then your admitting the great man is bigger than the Masters and possibly the sport itself - another win for Tiger then :thup:

He broke the rule Davey - otherwise why the 2 shot penalty.....
 
Tiger haters will cling on to anything, its hilarious :rofl:

So if I criticise Tiger or do not fall at his feet I hate him apparently?

Pretty perverted logic to suggest that his actions are above criticism or that any golfer should be above the Rules.

It is clear that his breach was one that he couldhave been aware of and, in those circumstances, there does not appear to be room for any leeway.

It appears to me that the Tiger lovers are the ones who will cling to anything to favour their man.
 
You thought there were a lot of Tiger Haters.
If he doesn't withdraw you'll see a whole lot more.....
He wants to be the Greatest?
Here's his chance to get further up the ladder by withdrawing

Indeed

I think he is an amazing golfer, right up there with the greatest through the ages, and like many nere my posts to this thread have absolutely nothing to do with Tiger and everything to do with the rules.

But, there is a cross over when the rules appear to be modified because it's Tiger......

In fact the point's been past, and the damage done. Even if Tiger withdrew now we have an almighty mess because it comes over that he's bigger than the game. Tiger would look better though.
 
He broke the rule Davey - otherwise why the 2 shot penalty.....

I'm not disputing the rule break, yes he did and should be punished buttt... It wasn't deliberate and he put pen to paper not knowing he had broke a rule so the situation has been dealt with well within the rules and he deserves to be on course today.
 
So if I criticise Tiger or do not fall at his feet I hate him apparently?

Pretty perverted logic to suggest that his actions are above criticism or that any golfer should be above the Rules.

It is clear that his breach was one that he couldhave been aware of and, in those circumstances, there does not appear to be room for any leeway.

It appears to me that the Tiger lovers are the ones who will cling to anything to favour their man.


Apparently the powers that be brought out a rule to cover this, after an infringement by Harrington? Last year. Tiger has fallen foul of it, and been pinged. He has taken the penalty. Move on, nothing to see here.
 
How on earth do you decide whether a player knew or not that he had incurred an infringement? Woods must have know that the two yards he added were to benefit him as it was the optimum distance he was looking for.
Tiger Woods has cheated and thinks he can get away with it because its him,how right he is......

Just seen it on the beeb , 2 yards is aprox 6 feet .. it didnt even look like 2 feet to me , could be just the camera angle tho .. Personaly i dont think the drop was excessivly far behind the origional spot for a drop .. just my opinion tho
 
I'm not disputing the rule break, yes he did and should be punished buttt... It wasn't deliberate and he put pen to paper not knowing he had broke a rule so the situation has been dealt with well within the rules and he deserves to be on course today.

That's wrong and your inventing another rule, if you didn't sign your card, you'd be DQ'd, if you added it up incorrectly, you'd be DQ'd he hasn't added a penalty stroke after knowingly and deliberately playing from an incorrect position and as such his card is incorrect which is a DQ.

Its quite black & white really!
 
Doesent the ruling state that you either drop two club lengths from the hazard where your ball entered or play from where you played your last shot?


Yes but he didnt play from where his last shot was taken......It was in his words 2 yards further back to allow for the ball to pitch less distance from the flag...... So in effect his penalty drop was wrong per the rules!
 
This is an absolute disgrace, mark roe will no doubt have a few things to say on the matter later, but if you're no1 you are untouchable. Looks like our game of honest gents has taken a real hit today. He signed the card wrong end of story it's a DQ and that's that. But the officials at Augusta seem to think they are above the laws of the sport. I'm bitterly disappointed in the officials.
 
Just seen it on the beeb , 2 yards is aprox 6 feet .. it didnt even look like 2 feet to me , could be just the camera angle tho .. Personaly i dont think the drop was excessivly far behind the origional spot for a drop .. just my opinion tho

Tiger said in his interview that he dropped 2 yards further back
 
Apparently the powers that be brought out a rule to cover this, after an infringement by Harrington? Last year. Tiger has fallen foul of it, and been pinged. He has taken the penalty. Move on, nothing to see here.

That rule is to deal with cases of 'trial by TV'. Therefore completely irrelevant in this case.
 
You thought there were a lot of Tiger Haters.
If he doesn't withdraw you'll see a whole lot more.....
He wants to be the Greatest?
Here's his chance to get further up the ladder by withdrawing

:sbox:
I don't really follow the pro tours except for the "three" majors - Augusta, US Open and The Open. (USPGA - pah!)
I like watching great golf being played on these occasions, whether on TV or on the course, and I have no particular favourites - they're just names to me.
I do, however, abhor people who refuse to follow the rules of a GAME !! Amateurs as well as Pros.

Until now, I've had respect for Tiger Woods but, unless he does the right thing here, I will become ..... not a hater, but .... a supporter of anyone else he happens to play against.

I know many will say - but it's his job, it's worth a lot of money! To you I say, try to imagine someone else in another PRO-fession doing the dirty; lawer, banker, financial consultant, etc., would you forgive cheating on their part if it was "for the money"?

INTEGRITY ! That's what golf is about!
Do YOU have enough to admit mistakes and accept the consequences? Yes?
Then why shouldn't Tiger?

**gets off soapbox**
 
I don't think for a second that Tiger did anything other than make a mistake. No way was this is deliberate.

Still, people get DQ'd for innocent mistakes. So is the ANGC decision fair? Actually I think it is and I am no Tiger lover. Hopefully the same decision would have been made if it had been David Lynn or some other lesser light.
 
Top