The grip

Foxholer

Blackballed
Visit site
I'd suggest that 'the strike' is 'more important'!

And it's something that's easy for Coaches to 'teach' and steer a lesson around, so that both Student and Teacher can feel 'progress'!

It was, however, the 1st 'Lesson' in Hogan's 'Five Lessons' book - and a totally logical place to start.

I started playing with a baseball grip - after many years of Hockey. My first coach, fairly open-minded about where to start with someone already playing 'better than most' stated 'That's fine for now' and adjusted other parts of my swing first.

bobmac

Major Champion
Visit site
I'm not going to bother watching 22.40 on a 'grip masterclass' the first few minutes were enough.
But if someone did, did he explain why you should hold it a certain way (clapping position) or did he just say hold it this way?

HomerJSimpson

Hall of Famer
Visit site
Plenty of good golfers have had unconventional grips (strong and weak) although I concede most pros will teach a new golfer the proper way and a lot will tweak a players grip in a lesson. I have one of those grip training aids that slips onto a club and will use it from time to time as I have a tendency to get weak.

hovis

Tour Winner
Visit site
I suffered with push shots and push/ slices from day one. It was fixed by actually weakening my right hand. Something at least 4 pros missed, never looked back since

Swinglowandslow

Visit site
I suffered with push shots and push/ slices from day one. It was fixed by actually weakening my right hand. Something at least 4 pros missed, never looked back since

Strange that. Seems to go against convention. I have a similar tendency re shots, but haven't dared to try your fix.. Though I am comfortable on the grip with a weakened right hand, I do make a point of moving it to be stronger.
Might try your way?
Has there been any feedback to you as to why your fix works in your case?

Mandofred

Visit site