Strategies to lower handicap

Jasonr

Club Champion
Visit site
My goal this year was just to get a handicap as I am a newbie and I got 27

It was remarked yesterday that I can drive the ball and Putt well especially around the 4-5' mark. So that gives me some areas to concentrate on and in fact I had already focused on my irons as my weakness (bad pull) and I am having lessons to put right but it does involve altering my swing quite dramatically so is not a quick fix. Also a lot of people add up my card and have a sort of eh moment and say that my scores do not reflect the golf I played.

My course is not particularly long nor does it contains much water but it is very tight and tricky.

So with my driver and Putter only working what other tactics can I employ to start getting those scores down.

I can hit some good shots but I am just not consistent I will be putting for a birdie on one hole and then for a seven on the next.

How can I plot my way around the course to get a score and handicap more reflective of my ability or is it just a case of patience and the scores will come?

Thanks all.

Last edited:

Grant85

Head Pro
Visit site
Probably best to take on less risky shots.

Read the book 'Every Shot Counts' by Mark Broadie.

He was the innovator of the 'strokes gained' stats and he believes that most amateurs can easily lower their scores without necessarily changing or improving their ability.

Other than that, probably concentrate on short game. And I'm willing to bet your putting is probably not as good as you think it is.

pendodave

Tour Rookie
Visit site
Might be worth keeping a record for a couple of rounds to give you some numbers to back up your suspicions. You might be surprised at the actualité.

I'd be surprised if your putting and chipping are as good as you think, if they are half decent you should be under 27.