straight left arm

time_vans

Head Pro
Visit site
is there any pros or low handicappers who have trouble with this. reason i ask is i am new to golf and my left arm seems to want to bend early into my back swing.i understand the principles behind a wide take away but wondered if there is video footage of pros who bend the left arm. can still drive around 240plus with my swing. does a persons 'natural' swing count for anything i am relating it to darts ....loads of different actions but same result???

golfcitydweller

Q-School Graduate
Visit site
i`ve always worked on keeppin my left arm as straight as poss up to the half way ,which helps keep the club fully extended ...check out ur local pro and ask his advice...
everyone has a different theory on it

MVP

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
straight left arm helps get consistency, but you shouldnt straighten it so much you feel tensions. cos tension restricts other important muscles working properly and you'll lose power!

ianmc

Club Champion
Visit site
never really been one for the straight left arm it builds up rigidity which in turn leads to tension..did try it for a while a couple of years back but found it a bad swing thought to have.the only swing thought i now have is tempo and rhythm.you may see the pro's keeping there left arm dead straight on the top but most of them are very athletic and it usually comes naturally to them but the majority of us are not as supple as they are.i try to keep my left arm free from tension as it allows my arm to stay connected to my body as i start my backswing which to turn helps me get the club on a much better plane halfway up allowing my swing to flow getting me to reach the top in better shape.dont know what other people think thats just my view.ian mc

brendy

Global Moderator
Visit site
Apologies on the size of this pic (its actually my avatar on this forum but they arnt working right at the moment)