Snatching

pitchperfect

Hacker
Visit site
Hi.

It's amazing. When I'm practicing my swing in my back garden, my action is smooth and rhythmic, everything moves in unison, and I always strike the same piece of grass. However, when I'm standing over a golf ball I tend to snatch at the ball, as though I'm trying too hard to hit the ball as opposed to catching it on the way through. Sometimes this tension in my swing is so bad I actually completely miss the ball and swipe at the fresh air immediately above the ball. Embarrasing, as you might imagine.

Has anyone got any tips on how I might cure this swing affliction?

haplesshacker

Money List Winner
mid-life-crisis-man.blogspot.co.uk
As you've read elsewhere. I'm no expert. But what I have been told is to swing two clubs as a warm up. The extra weight helps reduce your swing speed and therefore any tendancy to snatch. If you do try and snatch with two clubs in your mitts, chances are you'll do yourself an injury.

Alternatively try a weighted swing trainer.

I dearly hope that I'm not wrong, as this is what I do in the garden.

TWM

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site
I have a weighted swing trainer. I snatch. :mad:
I always have to remind myself.... Big wide swing, smooth transition.

HomerJSimpson

Hall of Famer
Visit site
My advice is to get a pre-shot routine on the practice ground/range and then use it on the course. Hit a buket of balls and go through the pre-shot routine and address on every shot as though it was real. Then once you get onto the course stick with it and focus on all the good shots you've hit in practice.

One other tip I find helps if I get tense is to get my address set up and then to waggle the club just before I hit so I'm not forzen and my swing is much smoother.

viscount17

Money List Winner
Visit site
try breathing throughout the swing.