Snail ruling…

Tomigun

New member
Joined
May 25, 2025
Messages
1
Visit site
Today I played an approach shot into the green which came to rest on a steep slope propped up by a passing snail. I marked the ball and removed the snail, but, due to the slope, I could not replace the ball on the same spot without it rolling several feet toward the hole. What is the ruling here? (See pic)
 

Attachments

  • a9ac5ba2-4059-4131-89fd-eb7309e889d6.jpeg
    a9ac5ba2-4059-4131-89fd-eb7309e889d6.jpeg
    225.1 KB · Views: 47

14.2e. What to Do If Replaced Ball Does Not Stay on Original Spot​

If the player tries to replace a ball but it does not stay on its original spot, the player must try a second time.

If the ball again does not stay on that spot, the player must replace the ball by placing it on the nearest spot where the ball will stay at rest, but with these limits depending on where the original spot is located:

  • The spot must not be nearer the hole.
  • Original Spot on Putting Green. The nearest spot must be either on the putting green or in the general area.
 
Genuine question. If the ball and the snail (ie an outside influence) are both at rest, are you allowed to move the snail? I may be being dim, but can't find/see anything relevant in the rules
 
Today I played an approach shot into the green which came to rest on a steep slope propped up by a passing snail. I marked the ball and removed the snail, but, due to the slope, I could not replace the ball on the same spot without it rolling several feet toward the hole. What is the ruling here? (See pic)
You say you marked the ball and removed the snail. I expect you lifted the ball since you had to replace it and if so, I wonder what rule permitted you to lift it. You were right to try to replace the ball but you need to consider whether you were entitled to lift it in the first place. If you can't find a rule that allowed it, you get a 1 stroke penalty under Rule 9.4b

Hint: @backwoodsman hasn't managed to find a relevant rule.
 
Last edited:
Genuine question. If the ball and the snail (ie an outside influence) are both at rest, are you allowed to move the snail? I may be being dim, but can't find/see anything relevant in the rules

It is in the definitions of loose impediment

A snail is a loose impediment.

The ball is on the green so can be lifted after marking its place.

If it were elsewhere on the course one would have to watch out for the ball moving if lifting the snail.
 
It is in the definitions of loose impediment

A snail is a loose impediment.

The ball is on the green so can be lifted after marking its place.

If it were elsewhere on the course one would have to watch out for the ball moving if lifting the snail.
Ok. Ta. (My mistake in thinking it was an outside influence)

Ps. Dont think I'd want to be the snail in this situation ... :)
 
An animal is an outside influence as per definition of outside influence in the rules
Jim8Flog is correct. I suggest you re-read the definition of a Loose Impediment: "Worms, insects and similar animals that can be removed easily, and the mounds or webs they build (such as worm casts and ant hills)".
 
It is in the definitions of loose impediment

A snail is a loose impediment.

The ball is on the green so can be lifted after marking its place.

If it were elsewhere on the course one would have to watch out for the ball moving if lifting the snail.
Was the ball on the green? The OP states that he played “into the green” but does not state if the ball finished on the fringe or on the green.
 
Was the ball on the green? The OP states that he played “into the green” but does not state if the ball finished on the fringe or on the green.
I thought from the photo it was off the green and replied accordingly. The OP would have to clarify because, as indicated above, what you can do on and off the green are very different.
 
Today I played an approach shot into the green which came to rest on a steep slope propped up by a passing snail. I marked the ball and removed the snail, but, due to the slope, I could not replace the ball on the same spot without it rolling several feet toward the hole. What is the ruling here? (See pic)
Please clarify if on or off the green, see later comments.

If your ball was not on the green there is a penalty for causing the ball to move. If you remove a loose impediment (the snail) and the ball moves it is a penalty. You could have waited for the snail move but we all know about the pace of snails 😂, then played the ball from where it came to rest.
 
Jim8Flog is correct. I suggest you re-read the definition of a Loose Impediment: "Worms, insects and similar animals that can be removed easily, and the mounds or webs they build (such as worm casts and ant hills)".
Some animals can be both loose impediments and outside influences, one of the definitions of outside influence is any animal and in the definition of animal it says any living member of the animal kingdom other than humans.
 
Some animals can be both loose impediments and outside influences, one of the definitions of outside influence is any animal and in the definition of animal it says any living member of the animal kingdom other than humans.

In this situation if the snail is treated as an outside influence and was not on the green the procedure is to drop a ball and not place it (11.1b).
 
Today I played an approach shot into the green which came to rest on a steep slope propped up by a passing snail. I marked the ball and removed the snail, but, due to the slope, I could not replace the ball on the same spot without it rolling several feet toward the hole. What is the ruling here? (See pic)
Check out model rule e13.
 
In this situation if the snail is treated as an outside influence and was not on the green the procedure is to drop a ball and not place it (11.1b).
Don't quite follow your thoughts? I read the original post as saying that the ball did not come to rest on the snail (as an outside influence), but is at rest on grass leaning against the snail. If that is the case, Rule 11.1b says the ball must (normally) be played as it lies. The player could wait until the snail moved or, since the snail is also a loose impediment, could remove it.
I agree with others that the player has made an error in marking and lifting his ball in play, and a one stroke penalty will be incurred via Rule 9.4. He did remove the snail before trying to replace the ball. Others have said what to do if the ball won't come to rest at the original spot.
 
Today I played an approach shot into the green which came to rest on a steep slope propped up by a passing snail. I marked the ball and removed the snail, but, due to the slope, I could not replace the ball on the same spot without it rolling several feet toward the hole. What is the ruling here? (See pic)
In sum, more factual detail is needed. In particular, in what area of the course was the ball at rest against the snail?
a) If at rest on the putting green, no penalty (see Rule 13.1) and replace the ball following the guidance in Rule 14.2e.
b) If at rest in the general area, one stroke penalty under Rule 9.4b and replace following the guidance in 14.2e.
 
Top