Shaft flex and swingweights???

johng

Head Pro
southerndowngolfclub.co.uk
Hi All.

possibly a bit of a technical question this.....

Just been using a set of Titleist 735's with Dynamic Gold s300 shafts. I currently use 704's with R300 shafts. Having checked the specs' via Titleist, club for club they are the same, loft, lie, length etc.

However... when swinging they definitly feel heavier, both when just holding them and whilst swinging. I accept feel is subjective but was wondering if the stiffness of the shaft causes this?????

Shots appeared straight and good height, the R300's I tend to draw (pull?) and get a good height from.

any knowledgeable members out there able to shine a light into my dim little corner?

Cheers.
John.

RGuk

Tour Winner
Visit site
I'm not an expert, but I do know that "in general" clubs aimed at the better player DO have higher swing weights.
I've always played with D0 or D1 with reg steel, when I have looked up specs for irons clearly NOT for the beginner, they tend to be up around D3-D4. I can only presume from this that during the design process, it is undoubtedly the intention of designers to develop a club/shaft combination that comes out heavier than the rather light-weight D0-D1 that makers (particularly Callaway) strive for in improvement irons.

I am not surprised by this discovery.....it's what I would expect.

theeaglehunter

Tour Winner
Visit site