Restarting Match

Swango1980

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 22, 2019
Messages
14,273
Location
Lincolnshire
Visit site
A fourball match stops during a match due to lightning. They mark their positions on the course.

Rule 5.7c indicates that play must resume where it stopped, even if on a later day. Are there any exceptions to this? I was just thinking there could be an issue if all the pin positions had changed, especially if players had stopped play on the green.
 
There are no exceptions relevant to this scenario listed in the Rules or Clarifications. For a one-off four-ball match it is not a big drama as both sides are impacted more or less equally.

See Committee Procedures 6B for a general discussion on considerations around making changes to the course mid-round. 6B(2)d gives guidance on what the Committee should do if the hole is relocated after a ball is already positioned nearby on the putting green:

"...the Committee should require any player whose ball is on the putting green to reposition their ball to a position that is comparable to that which the previous stroke had originally given the player. For a ball that lies off the putting green, the Committee should require that ball to be played as it lies."
 
Top