Replacing Ball on the Green

apj0524

Head Pro
Joined
Oct 9, 2013
Messages
652
Location
Somerset
Visit site
I have a question that came up yesterday in a monthly Medal.

My fellow competitor marked his ball on the green, replaced it and aligned it, then picked up the marker, but then decided to re mark and re-align the ball.

I said to him that once he had placed the ball and removed the marker the ball is in play and he couldn't remark and re-align, he obviously disagreed.

I didn't make an issue of id because I wasn't 100% sure of the ruling?

Who's right and if I right that you can not re-mark and move the ball on the green, what would the penalty be?
 
Surely, once you've marked, replaced and picked up the marker, you have to re-mark before you can move/rotate it..? And you can do this as often as required...
Otherwise, why have to mark it at all........?
 
Surely, once you've marked, replaced and picked up the marker, you have to re-mark before you can move/rotate it..? And you can do this as often as required...
Otherwise, why have to mark it at all........?
You do and in the original post he did...
 
I have a question that came up yesterday in a monthly Medal.

My fellow competitor marked his ball on the green, replaced it and aligned it, then picked up the marker, but then decided to re mark and re-align the ball.

I said to him that once he had placed the ball and removed the marker the ball is in play and he couldn't remark and re-align, he obviously disagreed.

I didn't make an issue of id because I wasn't 100% sure of the ruling?

Who's right and if I right that you can not re-mark and move the ball on the green, what would the penalty be?

You might be confusing it with preferred lies. Once you have preferred the lie you are stuck with it.
 
Thanks for your help it would seem that the advise I was given is wrong, and that:

" The position of the ball must be marked before it is lifted. There is no limit to the number of times that a player may mark and lift their ball from the putting green, providing they do not unduly delay play. "

Thanks again
 
Top