Rear ended, but no visible damage. Advice please.

Don Barzini

Assistant Pro
Visit site
Car in question is a Rav4, brand new in December 2022. I have it on a three year monthly payment deal. Balloon payment at the end, or hand it back.

Wife was driving it yesterday. Sat at a roundabout, car goes into the back of her. Low speed. Woman of other car very apologetic, holds her hand up and says it's her fault, she thought my wife was pulling away and followed.

They have a look at both cars. Other woman's is dented by the collision but there's absolutely no visible damage to mine. Wife makes a note of her registration and gets her name and mobile number.

I've looked at my car and I can see no visible damage. Maybe a tiny dint/scrape here and there which may well have been there anyway from stones flicking up or whatever. I am by no means an expert on cars, but from my limited knowledge bumpers can be funny things and while there's no visible damage, there could possibly be damage that I can't see......?

So how to approach this? I don't just want to assume there's no damage as from what I know of car dealerships at the end of my three years they'll go over it with a fine tooth comb and use any excuse to devalue it. So if there's something I miss it could affect me further down the line.

So - do I just contact my insurance company and let them take charge of the situation? I assume they'd have to take the car away and assess it and would obviously get the other woman's insurance involved. I have no particular worries that the other woman would put up a fight. She held up her hands and admitted fault and I also have a dash cam which although front facing would show my wife didn't do anything wrong.

Or - do I take my own time and effort in taking it down to a garage myself to get assessed? And only then if I'm told there's damage should I call my insurance?

I've been in bumps and accidents before, but never something like this where there's no obvious damage.