Ratty about Mr Mole

lowdrag

Newbie
Joined
May 13, 2016
Messages
1
Visit site
In 45 years of golf this one has I think caught me out. My ball has run through the back of the green but has finished on top of a mole hill which has been flattened by I assume the green keeper while mowing. The grass around is quite thick so I elect to play as lies. I am at the address when the ball vibrates, then moves. We clearly see the earth continuing to move as the mole tries to open up the hole once more. Since the ball had moved while at the address I penalised myself one shot. But was I correct in doing so?
 
In 45 years of golf this one has I think caught me out. My ball has run through the back of the green but has finished on top of a mole hill which has been flattened by I assume the green keeper while mowing. The grass around is quite thick so I elect to play as lies. I am at the address when the ball vibrates, then moves. We clearly see the earth continuing to move as the mole tries to open up the hole once more. Since the ball had moved while at the address I penalised myself one shot. But was I correct in doing so?


I would say you were incoorect.. as you clearly saw it was thte mole who moved the ball.
 
In 45 years of golf this one has I think caught me out. My ball has run through the back of the green but has finished on top of a mole hill which has been flattened by I assume the green keeper while mowing. The grass around is quite thick so I elect to play as lies. I am at the address when the ball vibrates, then moves. We clearly see the earth continuing to move as the mole tries to open up the hole once more. Since the ball had moved while at the address I penalised myself one shot. But was I correct in doing so?

The standard of what is deemed causing it to move is much more in favour of the player since the latest revision
 
No different to being moved by a dog or bird - even after you have addressed it. No penalty.

Interesting where you drop if the area was still moving. No sure a mole could be classified as dangerous - unless you really peed him off!
 
In 45 years of golf this one has I think caught me out. My ball has run through the back of the green but has finished on top of a mole hill which has been flattened by I assume the green keeper while mowing. The grass around is quite thick so I elect to play as lies. I am at the address when the ball vibrates, then moves. We clearly see the earth continuing to move as the mole tries to open up the hole once more. Since the ball had moved while at the address I penalised myself one shot. But was I correct in doing so?
You didn't cause the ball to move, so no penalty. Read the latest version of the rules, particularly rule 18. As you were in/on an abnormal ground condition caused by a burrowing animal, you should have been able to take a free drop.
 
In 45 years of golf this one has I think caught me out. My ball has run through the back of the green but has finished on top of a mole hill which has been flattened by I assume the green keeper while mowing. The grass around is quite thick so I elect to play as lies. I am at the address when the ball vibrates, then moves. We clearly see the earth continuing to move as the mole tries to open up the hole once more. Since the ball had moved while at the address I penalised myself one shot. But was I correct in doing so?

It has been alluded to several times, but let me be more specific. Rule 18-2 changed this year and it now makes no difference whether you had addressed the ball or not. No more having to deem it your fault just because you had addressed the ball. The test for either situation is just whether you caused the ball to move or not. In this case it seems clear the mole did which is why you’re being told there’s no penalty.
 
Top