Putting with head cover on.

Tashyboy

Please don’t ask to see my tatts 👍
Joined
Dec 12, 2013
Messages
21,820
Visit site
Played a par three on Tuesday, hit an horrendous tee shot which ends up forty yards right of pin. Hit a gorgeous chip shot which ended up 2" behind the hole. The nine hole comp had finished and no PP said " pick it up". Even though we were playing gimmes. Think they were gobsmacked it never dropped. Anyway I walked up and just knocked it in with the head over on. Whilst waiting for the others to putt out I wondered if there was any infringements. Would there of been if that had been a comp.
 
Played a par three on Tuesday, hit an horrendous tee shot which ends up forty yards right of pin. Hit a gorgeous chip shot which ended up 2" behind the hole. The nine hole comp had finished and no PP said " pick it up". Even though we were playing gimmes. Think they were gobsmacked it never dropped. Anyway I walked up and just knocked it in with the head over on. Whilst waiting for the others to putt out I wondered if there was any infringements. Would there of been if that had been a comp.
Yes
I would think the club would be non conforming.
 
What puzzles me is how this came about. I have a picture in mind of my chipping (gorgeously of course!!) from 40 yards away to a possible gimme, putting my wedge back in my bag, trundling my trolley closer to the green, taking my putter out, removing the cover, putting the cover on top of my back and walking to my ball ....... But the OP arrives at his ball with the cover still on his putter. :unsure:

Anyway, the stroke with the cover on would in my view be a breach of Rule 4.1a(3) with a DQ penalty.
 
Bit of confusion to me about other matters

. The nine hole comp had finished and no PP said " pick it up". Even though we were playing gimmes. .

I presume this was a second 9 after playing the first 9 (in a 9 hole comp)according to the rules, is this correct
 
What puzzles me is how this came about. I have a picture in mind of my chipping (gorgeously of course!!) from 40 yards away to a possible gimme, putting my wedge back in my bag, trundling my trolley closer to the green, taking my putter out, removing the cover, putting the cover on top of my back and walking to my ball ....... But the OP arrives at his ball with the cover still on his putter. :unsure:

Anyway, the stroke with the cover on would in my view be a breach of Rule 4.1a(3) with a DQ penalty.
Not 4.3a bullet 2 ?
 
Bit of confusion to me about other matters



I presume this was a second 9 after playing the first 9 (in a 9 hole comp)according to the rules, is this correct
Yes Jim. The comp was a front nine comp. cards were signed and timed after the ninth. In essence it was social golf.
When i played the chip colin i saw it head towards the hole a PP was more excited than me as the hole was 10ft above me head. I assumed it was close. But not 2”. I had already got me putter out and just thought al knock it in. Gutted the chip never dropped as i already had a two in the comp and for me they are as rare as hens teeth
 
Would you really d/q someone for putting a 2 inch putt with the head over on? I realise there will be the usual what other rules are you going to ignore type answers but I know I wouldn’t question it.
 
Would you really d/q someone for putting a 2 inch putt with the head over on? I realise there will be the usual what other rules are you going to ignore type answers but I know I wouldn’t question it.

Since that is the penalty for doing what he did, on what grounds could I not?
 
Top