• We'd like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Holidays and a very Merry Christmas from all at Golf Monthly. Thank you for sharing your 2025 with us!

Practice during round

In this post, I'm not disputing any rule with anyone. But, I genuinely want to know the answer.

Playing a 570 yard par 5. I have an absolute nightmare off the tee. 150 yards in, I give up as I'd need to get up and down from under the trees, 420 yards out from the green. Unlikely :( . I pick my ball up, stick it in my pocket and start walking the hole as my playing partners continue.

180 yards from the green I decide I'm bored. So, I take the ball out of my pocket and play a shot to green. Can I do this?

Personally, I'd never have dreamed of doing this, I would have thought anyone could accuse me of hitting a practice stroke between holes, regardless of my intent. At the very least, it could be considered against the spirit of the game, especially if there was a 180 yard par 3 coming up (but even without that, my concern would still stand)?

So, the purpose of my persistence is because I genuinely want to know, can I do this or is it OK to let others do it. I wouldn't want to get it wrong in a big comp. If so, great, but I'm still struggling to be comfortable with that.

The only reason why I have previously given alternative scenarios is to highlight the weakness in the R&A wording AFTER others have highlighted that wording to support their stance.

So, if you can genuinely answer this scenario, let me know your genuine thought. All I'm asking for. Thanks.
Give it up.
 
In this post, I'm not disputing any rule with anyone. But, I genuinely want to know the answer.

Playing a 570 yard par 5. I have an absolute nightmare off the tee. 150 yards in, I give up as I'd need to get up and down from under the trees, 420 yards out from the green. Unlikely :( . I pick my ball up, stick it in my pocket and start walking the hole as my playing partners continue.

180 yards from the green I decide I'm bored. So, I take the ball out of my pocket and play a shot to green. Can I do this?

Personally, I'd never have dreamed of doing this, I would have thought anyone could accuse me of hitting a practice stroke between holes, regardless of my intent. At the very least, it could be considered against the spirit of the game, especially if there was a 180 yard par 3 coming up (but even without that, my concern would still stand)?

So, the purpose of my persistence is because I genuinely want to know, can I do this or is it OK to let others do it. I wouldn't want to get it wrong in a big comp. If so, great, but I'm still struggling to be comfortable with that.

The only reason why I have previously given alternative scenarios is to highlight the weakness in the R&A wording AFTER others have highlighted that wording to support their stance.

So, if you can genuinely answer this scenario, let me know your genuine thought. All I'm asking for. Thanks.

No points scored on that hole....move on
 
I dont see any difference in your new example - if you're going to drop a ball and play on after you clearly are going to have zero points then technically you are penalised for playing from a wrong place, whether you drop close to where you think your original ball was or walk 100 yards and drop makes no difference. The only time I would pull someone up is if they dropped more than one ball.
 
I dont see any difference in your new example - if you're going to drop a ball and play on after you clearly are going to have zero points then technically you are penalised for playing from a wrong place, whether you drop close to where you think your original ball was or walk 100 yards and drop makes no difference. The only time I would pull someone up is if they dropped more than one ball.
Thanks Chris.
 
In this post, I'm not disputing any rule with anyone. But, I genuinely want to know the answer.

Playing a 570 yard par 5. I have an absolute nightmare off the tee. 150 yards in, I give up as I'd need to get up and down from under the trees, 420 yards out from the green. Unlikely :( . I pick my ball up, stick it in my pocket and start walking the hole as my playing partners continue.

180 yards from the green I decide I'm bored. So, I take the ball out of my pocket and play a shot to green. Can I do this?

Personally, I'd never have dreamed of doing this, I would have thought anyone could accuse me of hitting a practice stroke between holes, regardless of my intent. At the very least, it could be considered against the spirit of the game, especially if there was a 180 yard par 3 coming up (but even without that, my concern would still stand)?

So, the purpose of my persistence is because I genuinely want to know, can I do this or is it OK to let others do it. I wouldn't want to get it wrong in a big comp. If so, great, but I'm still struggling to be comfortable with that.

The only reason why I have previously given alternative scenarios is to highlight the weakness in the R&A wording AFTER others have highlighted that wording to support their stance.

So, if you can genuinely answer this scenario, let me know your genuine thought. All I'm asking for. Thanks.
I would have always considered between holes as between the green and the next tee.
It’s that simple really .
But you are correct ,the written rule is a tad confusing.
 
It’s been a interesting thread, but what I can take out of it now is that if I’m playing a first hole which is a parr 5 and I have a shocking start, and out of the hole after only 250 yards I can walk 300 yards and place a ball on the green a long way from hole and have 3 “practice”putts. 😂
 
It’s been a interesting thread, but what I can take out of it now is that if I’m playing a first hole which is a parr 5 and I have a shocking start, and out of the hole after only 250 yards I can walk 300 yards and place a ball on the green a long way from hole and have 3 “practice”putts. 😂
This is actually allowed in the rules though. The rules do make it clear that chipping and putting between the play of two holes is allowed. I do think I get your meaning though. I wish the professionals played a few Stableford comps, because this would always be a non issue in Medal haha
 
Last edited:
Yes however strange and going by the answers on hear it is allowed.

Think I will try what I suggested next time I play a comp. and see what reaction from other players I get. 😂😂😂
 
In this post, I'm not disputing any rule with anyone. But, I genuinely want to know the answer.

Playing a 570 yard par 5. I have an absolute nightmare off the tee. 150 yards in, I give up as I'd need to get up and down from under the trees, 420 yards out from the green. Unlikely :( . I pick my ball up, stick it in my pocket and start walking the hole as my playing partners continue.

180 yards from the green I decide I'm bored. So, I take the ball out of my pocket and play a shot to green. Can I do this?

Personally, I'd never have dreamed of doing this, I would have thought anyone could accuse me of hitting a practice stroke between holes, regardless of my intent. At the very least, it could be considered against the spirit of the game, especially if there was a 180 yard par 3 coming up (but even without that, my concern would still stand)?

So, the purpose of my persistence is because I genuinely want to know, can I do this or is it OK to let others do it. I wouldn't want to get it wrong in a big comp. If so, great, but I'm still struggling to be comfortable with that.

The only reason why I have previously given alternative scenarios is to highlight the weakness in the R&A wording AFTER others have highlighted that wording to support their stance.

So, if you can genuinely answer this scenario, let me know your genuine thought. All I'm asking for. Thanks.
You can certainly do it if you're playing with me. I think you'd have to be some kind of grade A tosser to try and impose a penalty on another player for that. In essence it would be a two shot penalty for playing golf when we're all there to play golf aren't we? Nonsense. As long as you're not taking the mick, I would never have a problem with someone dropping a ball and hitting it up to the green. Life's too bloody short, we're all out there to enjoy the game for god's sake.
 
I dont see any difference in your new example - if you're going to drop a ball and play on after you clearly are going to have zero points then technically you are penalised for playing from a wrong place, whether you drop close to where you think your original ball was or walk 100 yards and drop makes no difference. The only time I would pull someone up is if they dropped more than one ball.
Exactly that. I'd only deem something 'practising on the course' if they were retaking shots unnecessarily, or hitting extra balls. Someone just throwing a ball down to finish the hole is not worth a penalty in my book. We play for fun.
 
Exactly that. I'd only deem something 'practising on the course' if they were retaking shots unnecessarily, or hitting extra balls. Someone just throwing a ball down to finish the hole is not worth a penalty in my book. We play for fun.

I don't look at the situation in quite the same way. If the rules prevent something I will always uphold the rule whatever, but the fact that the example given has been clearly deemed to be not a penalty situation then fine carry on. We do play for fun but in a competition the rules are the rules
 
Top