cliveb
Head Pro
There's a debate going on about which I'd like clarification. On our course there's a red penalty area (a ditch), but the opposite side of the ditch is internal OB. If your ball is in the ditch it's in play, but over the ditch is OB. Consider a ball that initially lands out of bounds but then bounces into the ditch. Some people are saying it's still OB. They are quoting this AI-generated answer to support their position:
No, if a golf ball lands out of bounds and then bounces into a red penalty area before coming to rest, it is still considered out of bounds and not in play. The ball is deemed out of bounds when all of it is outside the boundary edge of the course, regardless of any subsequent movement into a penalty area. The key factor is the ball's position when it comes to rest, but the initial out-of-bounds status is determined at the moment it first crosses the boundary line. Since the ball was already out of bounds before entering the penalty area, it does not become in bounds simply because it later entered a penalty area.
This just sounds wrong to me. For sure, you can't take lateral relief since you'd then be dropping OB, but I can't find anything in the ROG that implies the ball is actually OB. (On our course in this scenario, back-on-line relief would still be feasible in some cases as the ditch is curved).
My feeling is that AI has simply got this wrong, but I'd like confirmation from our resident rules experts in case I've missed some subtle issue. Rule 18.2a(2) seems pretty unambiguous to me.
No, if a golf ball lands out of bounds and then bounces into a red penalty area before coming to rest, it is still considered out of bounds and not in play. The ball is deemed out of bounds when all of it is outside the boundary edge of the course, regardless of any subsequent movement into a penalty area. The key factor is the ball's position when it comes to rest, but the initial out-of-bounds status is determined at the moment it first crosses the boundary line. Since the ball was already out of bounds before entering the penalty area, it does not become in bounds simply because it later entered a penalty area.
This just sounds wrong to me. For sure, you can't take lateral relief since you'd then be dropping OB, but I can't find anything in the ROG that implies the ball is actually OB. (On our course in this scenario, back-on-line relief would still be feasible in some cases as the ditch is curved).
My feeling is that AI has simply got this wrong, but I'd like confirmation from our resident rules experts in case I've missed some subtle issue. Rule 18.2a(2) seems pretty unambiguous to me.
