New and having problems

dannyboi91

Medal Winner
Visit site
I am new to golf and the forum only been playing 2 months or so and have played about 6 rounds. I went for a lesson on Friday and the PGA instructor completely changed my grip which is making me hit more consistant and straighter with my irons but I cannot drive at all. Lucky if I can hit 100yds with my driver as I cannot seem to get under the ball. Can someone please advise anything to help me out with this. I will be getting another lesson but I am going for a round this afternoon.

Region3

Ryder Cup Winner
Visit site
Welcome Danny :)

I'm not the best person to advise, but just in case no-one else does before you go out...

You don't have to get 'under the ball'. A driver will still have somewhere around 10° of loft, so unless you're leaning the club forward by a significant chunk of that loft, the ball will still get airborne.

The trouble with the driver is we want it to go as far as possible.
If you hit a 7 iron you want it to go x yards. A pitching wedge you might want to go y yards. If you have 150yds to the flag you choose the club that goes that far and there's no prizes for trying to bust it 10 yards further.

With driver, every yard further you can hit it means a yard less to go to the green for your next shot, but going for distance most of the time leads to an uncontrolled swing.

Something I've seen suggested, is to pick a target in the fairway at what you consider to be a reasonable distance away. It might be level with a tree, bunker or anything else.
Then aim to hit the ball that distance with a controlled swing. A lot of the time you will find the ball goes further because you make a better contact with it.

The other thing which in my mind would prevent you getting the ball 'up' would be if you were moving too far in front of it on your downswing.