My driver history.......or a story of impulsive buying.

USER1999

Grand Slam Winner
Visit site

When I started playing golf, I had a succession of persimmon headed Wilson drivers, followed by some real junk (Regal, Hippo, etc), and then my first proper driver, a Callaway H2S2, steel shafted, which was the immediate fore runner to the original big bertha. This was a surprise present form my Dad, totally out of the blue. I think I still own this driver some where. Last time I gave it a swish it made a good 5 wood, both in terms of head size, and distance hit.

I used the Cally for quite a few years, and then bought a Mizuno T3 titanium driver. No idea what the shaft was, but I also bought the matching 3 and 5w. I still have these in my wardrobe, and the driver might be in the loft, but I'm not going up there to find out.

The T3 was fine, until Taylor made launched the 300 series. They came in 3 sizes, 300cc, 320cc, and 360cc, which was massive (at the time). Once I'd hit one of these beauties, I had to have one. This driver was like nothing else that was around at the time. It went for miles. I tried it out at Windlesham, with a Grafalloy prolite 35S. I loved this shaft. It was the first time I'd ever hit a stiff shaft, and it was a beast. I took it back to my club, and on 17 there is a ditch a good drive will roll into. I carried it. Awesome.

I missed out the R300 completely, but then the R7 quad was launched. I fell for the technology hook line and sinker. Without even hitting one, I bought a US spec one off the internet. It had a Fujikura shaft in stiff. After about 6 months I worked out I couldn't hit a barn door with a banjo with it, so I had the shaft pulled, and had an Aldila NV65S put in it. I hadn't previously hit one of these either, but I loved the green colour. (I've always been a bit of a tart when it comes to colours). This was a vast improvement on the original stock shaft, but then it really couldn't have been any worse.