Match play rule - advice please

Jamie_harben

Newbie
Joined
Nov 19, 2015
Messages
1
Visit site
In match play, if you knowingly know that someone is breaking the rules and don't let them know, is it a loss of hole for the person who doesn't say anything? An example of this is when someone did not declare a provisional ball and his opponent said immediately after that he had to play his second ball as he did not declare it a provisional even though he found his first ball..
 
How would you know that the player didn't intend to play stroke & distance with his 'replayed shot' though

Its not up to the second player to ask 'are you playing a S&D or a provisional?

Only applies to your example though, the wider question of knowingly letting someone breach a rule I don't recall the correct answer for. I think it had something to do with being unsporting but ultimately not your responsibility to ensure compliance to all rules for an opponent (someone better will answer shortly no doubt)
 
You can't agree with your opponents to break the rules of golf but in Matchplay you are entitled to overlook infringements. You don't, as Slab has said, need to ask if he is playing a provisional ball, that is for him to declare and if he does, or doesn't, say the magical word "provisional" then the rules are clear as to how he needs to proceed. As far as I understand the workings of the rules, there is no way that you can lose a hole simply by not pulling your opponent up on his breach of a rule.

Welcome to the forum by the way!
 
Rule 6-1 provides that a player is responsible for knowing the Rules.

As said, in the OP case the opponent doesn't know the other player's intention and is entitled to assume he knows the rules. He didn't say "provisional" so it isn't a provisional.

There are some situations e.g teeing in front of the markers where if a player noticed but let the opponent go ahead, then had the shot recalled if it was a good one, when some might say that is a bit unsporting but in my view a player has to take responsibility for their own actions.

Having said that, in match play, as Chris says, a player may disregard a breach by an opponent as long as they don't agree to waive a rule.
 
In match play you are not obliged to point out a breach to your opponent. You may simply ignore it. You can not however, point out the breach and then tell him that you will not count it. That would be agreeing to waive a rule, which is a DQ offence for both players.
 
In match play, if you knowingly know that someone is breaking the rules and don't let them know, is it a loss of hole for the person who doesn't say anything? An example of this is when someone did not declare a provisional ball and his opponent said immediately after that he had to play his second ball as he did not declare it a provisional even though he found his first ball..

Rule 2-5
Note 1: A player may disregard a breach of the Rules by his opponent provided there is no agreement by the sides to waive a Rule (Rule 1-3).

The only way you could breach the rules in this context is by observing your opponent break a rule, telling him he has done so and then agreeing that the penalty for the breach is not applied.
 
Rule 2-5
Note 1: A player may disregard a breach of the Rules by his opponent provided there is no agreement by the sides to waive a Rule (Rule 1-3).

The only way you could breach the rules in this context is by observing your opponent break a rule, telling him he has done so and then agreeing that the penalty for the breach is not applied.
If I observe my opponent break a rule, decide to ignore it, but wish at some later time to explain it to him so he knows in future, is that OK? When would I be allowed to do that without penalty (eg. after the match is over, after the next hole begins, etc)?
 
If I observe my opponent break a rule, decide to ignore it, but wish at some later time to explain it to him so he knows in future, is that OK? When would I be allowed to do that without penalty (eg. after the match is over, after the next hole begins, etc)?

That is fine, you can discuss it any way you like.
 
If I observe my opponent break a rule, decide to ignore it, but wish at some later time to explain it to him so he knows in future, is that OK? When would I be allowed to do that without penalty (eg. after the match is over, after the next hole begins, etc)?

Any time after teeing off the next hole would be my guess, I await correction??
 
Any time after teeing off the next hole would be my guess, I await correction??

No correction - you are spot on!

Matchplay is a hole by hole game (some Scots even call it 'hole on hole'!), so each hole is separate with specific start and end teeing off being the start and next teeing off (or leaving the 18th green) being the end. Once you have started the next hole, then stuff that happened in the previous one is almost always considered 'sealed'. An exception, the only one that springs to mind, is where a challenge (claim) is made that cannot be immediately resolved, in which case the result is left open, but teeing off on the next hole still starts the new hole.
 
Rule 2-5
Note 1: A player may disregard a breach of the Rules by his opponent provided there is no agreement by the sides to waive a Rule (Rule 1-3).

The only way you could breach the rules in this context is by observing your opponent break a rule, telling him he has done so and then agreeing that the penalty for the breach is not applied.

The more common problem situation is where the opponent turns round and says something like "I shouldn't have done that should I, isn't it a penalty?" when you were happy to ignore it.
 
Any time after teeing off the next hole would be my guess, I await correction??

Further to foxholer's reply 'late' claims may be made:-

when the circumstances giving rise to the claim are discovered after all the players in the match have left the putting green of the final hole, before the result of the match has been officially announced.

A claim relating to a prior hole in the match may only be considered by the Committee if it is based on facts previously unknown to the player making the claim and he had been given wrong information (Rules 6-2a or9) by an opponent. Such a claim must be made in a timely manner.
 
. Once you have started the next hole, then stuff that happened in the previous one is almost always considered 'sealed'. An exception, the only one that springs to mind, is where a challenge (claim) is made that cannot be immediately resolved, in which case the result is left open, but teeing off on the next hole still starts the new hole.
If, on a subsequent hole, it is discovered that your opponent played a wrong ball on a previous hole, then the opponent is deemed to have given wrong information and loses the hole he may have won or tied, and the state of the match is adjusted accordingly.
 
Top