Marking someone's ball

Dellboy

Challenge Tour Pro
Joined
Oct 5, 2011
Messages
989
Location
Wilton, Nr Salisbury
Visit site
Hi
My local track has now made the 6th par 3, a play up hole, so yesterday after we got to the green we marked and waved the next 2 ball to play up.

I was fine but my partner had his line blocked by one of the group, playing up ball and pitch mark.

Not sure what to do I just marked it and repaired the green for him, he took his putt and I replaced the ball, was I ok to do this or should we have waited or should he have marked it himself ??

Cheers

Del
 
You can mark it and he can put it back. He doesn't need you to re-mark it for him.
 
Your partner had to have the player's authority to lift his ball. (Rule 20-1) By lifting it without authority he was simply moving a ball at rest which is covered by Rule 18-4. There is no penalty and the ball must be replaced - which your partner could do. The outcome is the same as if it had been lifted with authority and replaced: the same result but by a different route.

In the case of a "play up" hole like this, it might be reasonable to consider that by playing up, a player is giving tacit authority for his ball to be marked and lifted. What do you think?
 
Top