Marking Ball on Green

3offTheTee

Tour Rookie
Joined
Dec 29, 2006
Messages
3,539
Location
Cumbria
Visit site
Played in a TEAM STABLEFORD today on a temporary green. I was on the green and asked the guy who was on the green to mark his ball. His reply was that he did not need to as we were on a temporary green. In fact he felt he should leave it there as it would help me if I hit it!!

Surely this is incorrect and it would be a 2 shot penalty if I hit his ball.
 
Agreed, the rules apply to whatever putting green is use.

I'm not entirely in agreement after that. A asks B to mark and lift his ball. B refuses to do so. B is refusing to comply with Rule 22-2 and is therefore subject to disqualification for a breach of 3-4 Refusal to comply with a Rule. B's idea that leaving his ball in place might help A is entirely misguided as by hitting B's ball, A would be subject to a 2 stroke penalty. A has not in the first place agreed to have the ball left in place and by putting, A is not colluding in getting assistance. Rather he is having to put up with a plonker who invents rules and is putting him at risk of being penalised.

In the circumstances, if A putted and did hit B's ball it would see to me to be fundamentally wrong to penalise him for a situation that only existed because of his fellow competitor's breach (and a DQ breach at that). If there isn't a Decision to support a no penalty ruling, I'd want to go for one in equity.
 
My point was that player A should know that assistance was illegal and should not continue - and would be obliged to point that out. If not, I believe that The Committee would have to conclude that the players had colluded, so disqualification of both - and remember it's a Team Event, so assumption is that they are on the same side. Only other way would be to question player A as to why he continued to putt and make a decision based on the reply. B would certainly be DQ-ed though.

Different in a Singles comp:
I agree that there's not a lot of fairness if a 'fellow competitor' (B) insists on breaking a rule thus introducing the potential for a Penalty for A. Probably only recourse, without undue delay, would be to play 2 balls - and 2nd ball only needed if A actually hit B's ball.
 
My point is that we are not talking about assistance here. In what way is it assisting Player A to have B's ball left in a position in which if he hits it it costs him 2 penalty strokes? If A were playing from off the green, it would be a different story but here it is a clear disadvantage to A to have B's ball left. That's why A wants it lifted.

To my mind the applicable rule is 22-2 not 22-1 since it is a case of B's ball interfering with A's play.
 
Top