Lost Ball

Sam

Head Pro
Visit site
I only started playing last autumn but am really sliced on the game. I've read the rules on lost ball and out of bounds and appreciate and understand the reasoning behind stroke and distance for OOB and for lost ball where you can tell, say, from the tee that you ball has landed in an area full of fallen leaves. Take a provisional ball from the tee. What I have never seen anyone do is go back to the tee having searched for but lost a ball following a tee shot which appeared to be OK - say clearing the trees of a dog-leg fairway or a crested fairway on a course that's new to you.
Enforcing in such circumstances would certainly slow up play

billyg

Q-School Graduate
Visit site
I only started playing last autumn but am really sliced on the game. I've read the rules on lost ball and out of bounds and appreciate and understand the reasoning behind stroke and distance for OOB and for lost ball where you can tell, say, from the tee that you ball has landed in an area full of fallen leaves. Take a provisional ball from the tee. What I have never seen anyone do is go back to the tee having searched for but lost a ball following a tee shot which appeared to be OK - say clearing the trees of a dog-leg fairway or a crested fairway on a course that's new to you.

Sam , you've struck on something that has confused me for a long time too. It seems a bit of a loophole in the rules to me. For example I whack one into the thick rough giving it all ive got. Then I turn to my partner and say i'm sure that i'll find it so won't play a provisional. Surprise surprise I cannot find it and drop a ball favourably having only taken one stroke penalty but having gained god knows how many hundreds of yards. Seems a bit of a con.

I must point out that I don't deliberately do this but it clearly does happen with some of the people I play with and I can't see that they are doing anything wrong.....but it feels wrong.

Leftie

Tour Winner
Visit site