• We'd like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Holidays and a very Merry Christmas from all at Golf Monthly. Thank you for sharing your 2025 with us!

Is this still the rule?

chrisd

Major Champion
Joined
Sep 22, 2009
Messages
25,084
Location
Kent
Visit site
I was pretty certain that a few years back, in stroke play, if a player played a wrong ball on a hole,and didn't correct their error before teeing off the next hole, that the player was disqualified. I had a feeling that the rule was possibly changed to a (2 shot) penalty being applied. Can anyone enlighten me please?
 
No, you are still disqualified if you don't correct the mistake before making a stroke on the next hole.

(or before returning your scorecard if its the final hole of the round)

the 2 stroke penalty still applies but strokes made with the wrong ball are not counted
 
I was pretty certain that a few years back, in stroke play, if a player played a wrong ball on a hole,and didn't correct their error before teeing off the next hole, that the player was disqualified. I had a feeling that the rule was possibly changed to a (2 shot) penalty being applied. Can anyone enlighten me please?
In match play it is loss of hole.
 
Thanks guys, that what I said (thankfully correctly) in answering 2 questions during a match taking place in India ??
 
Last edited:
Top