Is this still the rule?

Thread starter #1

chrisd

Major Champion
Joined
Sep 22, 2009
Messages
23,821
Location
Kent
I was pretty certain that a few years back, in stroke play, if a player played a wrong ball on a hole,and didn't correct their error before teeing off the next hole, that the player was disqualified. I had a feeling that the rule was possibly changed to a (2 shot) penalty being applied. Can anyone enlighten me please?
 
Joined
Jul 31, 2015
Messages
1,943
No, you are still disqualified if you don't correct the mistake before making a stroke on the next hole.

(or before returning your scorecard if its the final hole of the round)

the 2 stroke penalty still applies but strokes made with the wrong ball are not counted
 

rulefan

Tour Winner
Joined
Feb 21, 2013
Messages
11,941
I was pretty certain that a few years back, in stroke play, if a player played a wrong ball on a hole,and didn't correct their error before teeing off the next hole, that the player was disqualified. I had a feeling that the rule was possibly changed to a (2 shot) penalty being applied. Can anyone enlighten me please?
In match play it is loss of hole.
 
Thread starter #6

chrisd

Major Champion
Joined
Sep 22, 2009
Messages
23,821
Location
Kent
Thanks guys, that what I said (thankfully correctly) in answering 2 questions during a match taking place in India 😁😁
 
Last edited:

jim8flog

Journeyman Pro
Joined
May 20, 2017
Messages
11,566
Location
Yeovil
If it is Stableford (which is a form of stroke play) it is zero points for the hole and not disqualification for the round.
 
Top