Is this still the rule?

chrisd

Major Champion
Joined
Sep 22, 2009
Messages
25,084
Location
Kent
Visit site
I was pretty certain that a few years back, in stroke play, if a player played a wrong ball on a hole,and didn't correct their error before teeing off the next hole, that the player was disqualified. I had a feeling that the rule was possibly changed to a (2 shot) penalty being applied. Can anyone enlighten me please?
 
No, you are still disqualified if you don't correct the mistake before making a stroke on the next hole.

(or before returning your scorecard if its the final hole of the round)

the 2 stroke penalty still applies but strokes made with the wrong ball are not counted
 
I was pretty certain that a few years back, in stroke play, if a player played a wrong ball on a hole,and didn't correct their error before teeing off the next hole, that the player was disqualified. I had a feeling that the rule was possibly changed to a (2 shot) penalty being applied. Can anyone enlighten me please?
In match play it is loss of hole.
 
Thanks guys, that what I said (thankfully correctly) in answering 2 questions during a match taking place in India ??
 
Last edited:
Top