Golf Random Irritations

Swinglowandslow

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 19, 2018
Messages
2,725
Our vice captain died unexpectedly of a heart attack this year, early 50s. He was always an advocate of more "fun comps" at the club as we have so much serious stuff.

His widow has donated a cup, we're playing for it tomorrow. It is "3 clubs and a putter, teams of 3, best 2 scores at each hole counting . Yellow tees."

The irritation is that one of our group is refusing to play as, "3 clubs and a putter isnt proper golf" so he's off somewhere else tomorrow.

He doesn't work, and plays several rounds a week. Its a memorial day for a nice bloke... crikey, what's up with some folk?
You're right to be irritated. Can't he see what the day is about?
 

Swinglowandslow

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 19, 2018
Messages
2,725
I’ve submitted the card I was doing - i guess I’m stuck with the 7 I recorded rather than the 5 for the shots i hit.
I've since looked. Seems that it was not a penalty along ,long time ago?
But it is now!
Reason I remember it , is an (allegedly true) story about the worst cheat ever.

Two chaps in a match. Both hit to the green. One ball goes into a bunker.
The other is also short but not in the bunker.
The "cheat" , walking ahead, walks up to the short ball and looks at it.
Then walks to the bunker and plays that ball.
Opponent, seeing this, assumes his ball is the short one. And plays it on to the green.
Both balls on the green. Cheat walks to the ball he played out of the bunker, looks at it and declares( rightly) that they have each played the wrong ball.
Claims the hole on the basis that opponent incurs penalty for playing wrong ball, whereas his playing of the wrong ball from a hazard did not incur a penalty!

Where do they come from, eh?
 

Golfmmad

Tour Winner
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Messages
3,487
I've since looked. Seems that it was not a penalty along ,long time ago?
But it is now!
Reason I remember it , is an (allegedly true) story about the worst cheat ever.

Two chaps in a match. Both hit to the green. One ball goes into a bunker.
The other is also short but not in the bunker.
The "cheat" , walking ahead, walks up to the short ball and looks at it.
Then walks to the bunker and plays that ball.
Opponent, seeing this, assumes his ball is the short one. And plays it on to the green.
Both balls on the green. Cheat walks to the ball he played out of the bunker, looks at it and declares( rightly) that they have each played the wrong ball.
Claims the hole on the basis that opponent incurs penalty for playing wrong ball, whereas his playing of the wrong ball from a hazard did not incur a penalty!

Where do they come from, eh?
What a d... head!
Similar happened to me recently in a match.

I hit my drive left of fairway in to semi rough. Walked up to the ball, exactly where I thought it was, played it and my opponent said you've hit my ball, that's loss of hole. I thought fair enough my mistake.

But annoyingly my playing partner was nicely placed on the green for two and I said that we've lost the hole. OK he said and walked to the next hole and accepted it.

Got back in the clubhouse and mentioned it to my mates and of course they said rightly that I was out of the hole but not my playing partner.

I wouldn't call it cheating, just none of us knowing the rules.
Needless to say it was a lesson learned and it won't happen again.
 

Orikoru

Tour Winner
Joined
Nov 1, 2016
Messages
20,402
Location
Watford
Mate had an absolute strop and ruined the atmosphere somewhat. He'd had a reasonable front nine, but then lost a ball unexpectedly on the 9th, missed a casual tap-in for a point (hey we've all been there) on the 10th, and then did that again on the 11th and his head was completely gone. We barely had a word out of him after that. He just hits the ball and walks straight after it. If it was not immediately visible he just gave up looking for it and marched to the next tee. Would rather he just walked off the course, there was no point in him being there.
 

srixon 1

Journeyman Pro
Joined
Oct 5, 2011
Messages
3,933
Location
Dorset
The price of golf umbrellas. I have been looking on line to buy a new one and for what they are the prices are scary. My last one was chucked in the bin on Friday after a gust of wind blew over my trolley which caused the handle of the brolly to shatter.

They are a bit like waterproofs, you need them and buy the best you can afford, but ultimately you never want to use them.
 

Blue in Munich

Crocked Professional Yeti Impersonator
Joined
Jan 12, 2013
Messages
14,096
Location
Worcester Park
What a d... head!
Similar happened to me recently in a match.

I hit my drive left of fairway in to semi rough. Walked up to the ball, exactly where I thought it was, played it and my opponent said you've hit my ball, that's loss of hole. I thought fair enough my mistake.

But annoyingly my playing partner was nicely placed on the green for two and I said that we've lost the hole. OK he said and walked to the next hole and accepted it.

Got back in the clubhouse and mentioned it to my mates and of course they said rightly that I was out of the hole but not my playing partner.

I wouldn't call it cheating, just none of us knowing the rules.
Needless to say it was a lesson learned and it won't happen again.
How do you know that he doesn't know the rule... :unsure:
 

Imurg

The Grinder Of Pars (Semi Crocked)
Joined
Mar 15, 2008
Messages
34,476
Location
Aylesbury Bucks
WITB postings as soon as someone wins a professional event...
Why?
Do they think that just because some Pro won with XYZ irons with extra stiff PX shafts and a Prototype driver with a similarly unavailable shaft is going to get us racing out to buy the same equipment?
Also...a Ping or Taylormade or Callaway sponsored player wins with a full bag of..
Does anyone find this interesting?
 

Orikoru

Tour Winner
Joined
Nov 1, 2016
Messages
20,402
Location
Watford
WITB postings as soon as someone wins a professional event...
Why?
Do they think that just because some Pro won with XYZ irons with extra stiff PX shafts and a Prototype driver with a similarly unavailable shaft is going to get us racing out to buy the same equipment?
Also...a Ping or Taylormade or Callaway sponsored player wins with a full bag of..
Does anyone find this interesting?
I'm not likely to buy something just because a pro uses it, but I do find these interesting. Not when it's a full sponsored bag obviously, but when a player is using more forgiving irons than you'd expect, or a 3 wood that's like 10 years old. Or even when they're not sponsored for a full bag it's mildly interesting to see which driver, irons, etc they would choose to use.
 

chrisd

Major Champion
Joined
Sep 22, 2009
Messages
24,232
Location
Kent
I decided to clean my clubs and bag after they all got wet yesterday. I thought my H2N0 bag was leaking badly as the golf ball pocket was horribly wet and a bit sticky - so that's what happened to the banana a couple of weeks back ??
 

Blue in Munich

Crocked Professional Yeti Impersonator
Joined
Jan 12, 2013
Messages
14,096
Location
Worcester Park
WITB postings as soon as someone wins a professional event...
Why?
Do they think that just because some Pro won with XYZ irons with extra stiff PX shafts and a Prototype driver with a similarly unavailable shaft is going to get us racing out to buy the same equipment?
Also...a Ping or Taylormade or Callaway sponsored player wins with a full bag of..
Does anyone find this interesting?
“Win on Sunday, sell on Monday” was the expression they used to use in the motorcycle racing world, so I don’t see why golf would be any different. Bag sponsorship is merely another form of advertising, they want their payback.
 

Canary Kid

Assistant Pro
Joined
Jun 28, 2017
Messages
1,194
Location
West Sussex
I'm not likely to buy something just because a pro uses it, but I do find these interesting. Not when it's a full sponsored bag obviously, but when a player is using more forgiving irons than you'd expect, or a 3 wood that's like 10 years old. Or even when they're not sponsored for a full bag it's mildly interesting to see which driver, irons, etc they would choose to use.
I love it that Justin Rose used a 10 year old 3 wood and that, when it finally broke, he found another one, supposedly on eBay. ?
 

DaveR

Head Pro
Joined
Jun 7, 2017
Messages
2,126
With Fragger having Flu and Covid boosters on Saturday it means Sunday won't be a good day to play as his arms are going to be dead...some may say that'll improve things but I couldn't possibly comment..
So we have to play Saturday...
I'm working early, he has his jabs at 9 and 5 but between those times there are copious roll ups and a set of club matches going out too...
Looks we may only have a window of 30 minutes or so..let's hope not too many other people turn up at the same time...
If only there was a way to know......:unsure:
Don't be so antisocial, join one of the rollups ?
 

Orikoru

Tour Winner
Joined
Nov 1, 2016
Messages
20,402
Location
Watford
I love it that Justin Rose used a 10 year old 3 wood and that, when it finally broke, he found another one, supposedly on eBay. ?
Are you sure that's Rose and not Stenson? Stenson famously has used a Callaway Diablo Octane for nigh on 15 years. A few years ago he did replace it, but I think he's gone back to it so maybe he got that one on Ebay!
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2022
Messages
30
Location
Cambridge
Stuck in a long queue yesterday for about 5 holes on the front nine. suddenly cleared on the back nine. Later found out that a 4 ball (only playing nine holes) were not letting anybody faster than them play through as it was "Their day and we are playing our way"
 
Last edited:

sjw

Active member
Joined
May 25, 2022
Messages
190
Stuck in a long queue yesterday for about 5 holes on the front nine. suddenly cleared on the back nine. Later found out that a 4 ball were not letting anybody faster than them play through as it was "Their day and we are playing our way"
Which course are you playing?
 

Canary Kid

Assistant Pro
Joined
Jun 28, 2017
Messages
1,194
Location
West Sussex
Are you sure that's Rose and not Stenson? Stenson famously has used a Callaway Diablo Octane for nigh on 15 years. A few years ago he did replace it, but I think he's gone back to it so maybe he got that one on Ebay!
Ah, you are probably right … I knew that it was a tall, fair haired bloke ?
 
Top