dejf
Assistant Pro
Hi,
please help me understand a couple of rules (most likely relevant rules are 16-1 and 14-1). A player puts and misses the cup and the ball goes a foot beyond. The player comes towards the ball, but as the final distance is very short, he stops on the opposite side of the hole and hits the ball with his putter towards the hole, which is also towards himself. Is this stroke allowed? Does it matter how his feet are positioned (e.g. standing astride of what would be a prolongation of the line of the putt)?
Picture: http://sketchtoy.com/67680156
On the left - the original putt
On the right - finishing a short put while the hole is between the player and the ball
please help me understand a couple of rules (most likely relevant rules are 16-1 and 14-1). A player puts and misses the cup and the ball goes a foot beyond. The player comes towards the ball, but as the final distance is very short, he stops on the opposite side of the hole and hits the ball with his putter towards the hole, which is also towards himself. Is this stroke allowed? Does it matter how his feet are positioned (e.g. standing astride of what would be a prolongation of the line of the putt)?
Picture: http://sketchtoy.com/67680156
On the left - the original putt
On the right - finishing a short put while the hole is between the player and the ball