greencarpman
Hacker
When u get a drop in a bunker is it from knee height or placed? Recently I was playing and the bunker had water in it, my playing partners all said I get a free relief from the water, and get to place it in the bunker.
In our Texas Scrambles, the only time the subsequent players can place it is on the fairway and green. We have to drop it in the rough and bunkers. Usually find the same rules are applied at Scrambles on away courses.The only time I know of for placing in a bunker is when playing a Texas Scramble and the club has the rule 'recreate the lie in a bunker' for subsequent players shots.
Other than replacing it, as rulefan quotes
In our Texas Scrambles, the only time the subsequent players can place it is on the fairway and green. We have to drop it in the rough and bunkers. Usually find the same rules are applied at Scrambles on away courses.
Thankfully we rarely elect to take a bunker shot.
Well, at least you got your wish in the endI remebr
I remember playing in one where the choice was a bunker shot from a very good lie or a chip over it from a totally bare lie and I could not persuade my partners to play the bunker shot. Our third shot was from the bunker because all of us thinned the chip shot in to the bunker.
To be honest, I hate that under any normal conditions, you have to drop in the bunker. Even from knee height. You almost always get a plugged lie, which isn't the case when you've hit you ball in the bunker with your shot. Doesn't seem right, especially for faireay bunker shots.... and, to be hoped, an up and down.
For Scrambles, I prefer to have playing the first as it lies and then allowing raking and placing for the next ones, for no other reason than saving time.