Driving

Oldham92

Hacker
Visit site
I'm a relatively new beginner player. Seen some improvement with irons, putting game is at a reasonable level for how long I've been playing, but can't seem to get on with a driver or FW at all. Booked in for some lessons to try and correct it, but thinking the members here might be able to give some advice.

Most of the time when I use my driver, I hit a slice and the ball goes further to the right than it does forward. When I do manage to hit one straight it really doesn't have much distance.

Went to the range tonight, with some masking tape over the club face of both driver and FW, and noticed I'm striking the ball right at the back of the club head, very close to the shaft of the club.

Has anyone had a similar problem? And if you did how did you correct it?

HomerJSimpson

Hall of Famer
Visit site
Personally I'd wait for the pro to watch you hit a few. Guaranteed he'll suss it in seconds and give you a drill for your swing to sort it. I'm sure there will be some far better golfers than me to advise. If you want top advice film the swing down the line and ask Bob our resident pro to help.

bobmac

Major Champion
Visit site
I'm a relatively new beginner player. Seen some improvement with irons, putting game is at a reasonable level for how long I've been playing, but can't seem to get on with a driver or FW at all. Booked in for some lessons to try and correct it, but thinking the members here might be able to give some advice.

Most of the time when I use my driver, I hit a slice and the ball goes further to the right than it does forward. When I do manage to hit one straight it really doesn't have much distance.

Went to the range tonight, with some masking tape over the club face of both driver and FW, and noticed I'm striking the ball right at the back of the club head, very close to the shaft of the club.

Has anyone had a similar problem? And if you did how did you correct it?