Does this count?

Which it clearly didn't. Mark it on the lip, repair the damage and then tap in.

But if you mark it behind the ball, repair the damage and replace the ball it will almost certainly drop into the hole as there would be no ground below it. Do you simply replace it as near as possible without it falling in?
 
But if you mark it behind the ball, repair the damage and replace the ball it will almost certainly drop into the hole as there would be no ground below it. Do you simply replace it as near as possible without it falling in?

Decision 16/3

Q.A player's ball embeds in the side of a hole. Part of the ball is above the level of the lip of the hole. What is the ruling?

A.The ball is not holed - see Definition of "Holed." The player may play the ball as it lies or lift the ball under Rule 16-1b, repair the damage under Rule 16-1c and place the ball on the lip of the hole.
 
Decision 16/3

Q.A player's ball embeds in the side of a hole. Part of the ball is above the level of the lip of the hole. What is the ruling?

A.The ball is not holed - see Definition of "Holed." The player may play the ball as it lies or lift the ball under Rule 16-1b, repair the damage under Rule 16-1c and place the ball on the lip of the hole.

Those R&A chaps are no fun. Seems a logical outcome though
 
Decision 16/3

Q.A player's ball embeds in the side of a hole. Part of the ball is above the level of the lip of the hole. What is the ruling?

A.The ball is not holed - see Definition of "Holed." The player may play the ball as it lies or lift the ball under Rule 16-1b, repair the damage under Rule 16-1c and place the ball on the lip of the hole.

So faced with that option, which club are people going to be taking to get the ball into the hole from that lie?
 
a ball is holed when it comes to rest in the bottom of the cup (read definition)

Just to clarify, I read the definition and it says:

Holed
A ball is “holed” when it is at rest within the circumference of the hole and all of it is below the level of the lip of the hole


Fraid it doesn't say anything about the "bottom of the cup"



edit:

It’s a poor angle but looking at the pic it’s not even clear if all of the ball is below the level of the lip or if part of it is above

It doesn’t look ‘embedded in the side of the hole’ so that might rule out any relevance to 16/3

It looks like its inside the circumference but trapped against the side by the extra liner


edit edit:

so what happens if you remove the extra liner (are you allowed to) and what will happen to the ball then (assuming you can mark the ball position first and noting that no additional strokes either through relief, penalty or actual strokes, have been taken yet to increase the score
 
Last edited:
Too late to edit but I’m thinking if the ball were trapped between the flag stick and the side of the hole in this exact position everyone would be claiming this as holed once they moved/removed the flag stick... so whats the difference here?
 
Top