Dead Branch’s

  • Thread starter Thread starter Deleted member 16999
  • Start date Start date
D

Deleted member 16999

Guest
Tonight on the course a ball ended up on the edge of some bushes, lying close by was a couple of dead branch’s
Upon attempting to remove the dead branch’s grass which had grown over one end was being pulled out.

The grass pulled out did not interfere with or improve the lie, is it ok to remove the branch?
 
Rules are rules but there are times when one has to realise one is not playing the Open Championship, I wouldn't be too impressed playing with someone who called a ruling upon me in said circumstances.
 
Rules are rules but there are times when one has to realise one is not playing the Open Championship, I wouldn't be too impressed playing with someone who called a ruling upon me in said circumstances.

So, which one are you going for Cabby.

1 .. Rules are rules

2 .. ignore the rules as it's harsh
 
Tonight on the course a ball ended up on the edge of some bushes, lying close by was a couple of dead branch’s
Upon attempting to remove the dead branch’s grass which had grown over one end was being pulled out.

The grass pulled out did not interfere with or improve the lie, is it ok to remove the branch?

If I understand you correctly the branches were not attached to a tree or bush but had just been lying on the ground for some time and had grass grow over them. So as you removed them the grass moved but not the ball and the lie / swing path was unaffected.

If so no penalty.

If the branches had been cut off and were waiting for removal (even if they had been there for a long time) - free drop at NPR - again not penalty
 
Tonight on the course a ball ended up on the edge of some bushes, lying close by was a couple of dead branch’s
Upon attempting to remove the dead branch’s grass which had grown over one end was being pulled out.

The grass pulled out did not interfere with or improve the lie, is it ok to remove the branch?
There is no prohibition in pulling up grass in general, so I see no problem in moving the grass with the branches as there was no improvement to the lie.
 
Rules are rules but there are times when one has to realise one is not playing the Open Championship, I wouldn't be too impressed playing with someone who called a ruling upon me in said circumstances.
Which rule do you think would be invoked?
 
Top