Reg/Stiff/Ping Eye 2 & Big Bertha’s

AdamJ82

Visit site
Hi everyone,
I’m new to the group so thanks for the acceptance.

I have a dilemma and was hoping for some advice....

I had some nice mizuno MX-19’s, stiff shaft, 3/4 inch longer than standard and jumbo grips and I liked them a lot. I’m only a beginner so handycap 20 but enjoyed the clubs... a friend of mine said they should be good for me. Ex-pro.

Anyway.... They got stolen!! 6 years ago and having had my first child I haven’t played since so haven’t bothered replacing.

3 months ago I decided to take it back up and my dad (75) has lent me his old mizuno MX20’s, reg carbons shafts. I’ve been to the range almost every day since and decided that If I’m gonna get the big again I might need to think about a new set as I’m worried they are a bit floppy for me being 35, 6ft2 and a good 17 stone. (190cm and 112kgs).

So I jumped online to research the best decent priced clubs on the market for price vs forgiveness as a high handicapper. After hours and hours of research I decided the general concencus is ping eye 2’s or Original Big Berthas.
So guess what, I bought both! (Well they’re like 70 pounds a set and at the end kf be day they fetch what they sell for easily and I’m no stranger to eBay so thought I’d try both and sell the ones I least like....

I chose a stiff shaft in the ping, and went for green dot as it the chart seems to say I’d be best suited to those and the big b’s are reg steels.....

So now I’ve been to he range 10 times....and here’s the outcome.....

The pings feel like hitting the ball with concrete railways sleeper... Jesus it hurts..the grips are very small/narrow which doesn’t feel as nice as my original junbos .. but they ricochet through the shaft to my fingers and I’m not feeling the magic! 4 out of 10 feel pure, the rest feel awkward, tough and the tragectory is to the left, low and bad. And that’s off a matt!! I’ve tried slowing the swing but I’m really struggling with them.