Correct procedure for drop or not

fowlero

Hacker
Joined
Apr 29, 2014
Messages
49
Visit site
I hope someone can help

playing our 13th Hole yesterday an interesting scenario arose.

the hole has an integral wall running down the right hand side of the hole, the grass on the right side of the wall is 2nd cut (quite long) just on the left hand side of the wall is 1st cut (2ft) and then fairway.

Tee shot finished up against the right hand side of the wall with no shot (and no free relief with it being an integral part of the course). Is it possible under of penalty of 1 stroke to take a drop to the left hand side of the wall within 2 club lengths not nearer the hole of where the ball is situated?

from looking at the rules I see no interpretation that says you cannot do this, but a few members in the clubhouse afterwards disagreed saying that you must stay on the same side the ball is on because the wall ins an integral part of the course. (although when asked to point out where this rule is written down none of them could). Dropping on the left hand side of the wall gives a better lie and also a better line into the green (I think this is the main gripe of other members, that and none of them had ever thought of dropping it on the other side of the wall before).

I just thought I would check on here for some additional clarification in case I have missed something.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_2692.jpg
    IMG_2692.jpg
    9.4 KB · Views: 107
The wall is irrelevant, you can exercise your unplayable lie options to your hearts desire.

Being an integral part of the course its just like a really hard rocky narrow hedge
 
As long as you don't drop on a putting green or in a hazard you may drop as you have set out. Sounds like you will be nicely on the fairway from your description of the situation.
 
Thanks for the feedback guys, I was sure I was correct, although when a few fellow golfers try to convince you that a myth is correct it does put doubts in your mind :thup:
 
If you need it in black and white the reference is Decision 20-2b/2 - Measuring Club-Lengths

Q. In measuring a distance of one club-length or two club-lengths when proceeding under a Rule, a player is entitled to measure directly across a ditch or through a fence, a tree or a constructed wall. However, a player may not measure through a natural undulation of the ground.
 
As long as you don't drop on a putting green or in a hazard you may drop as you have set out. Sounds like you will be nicely on the fairway from your description of the situation.

I believe he's dropping under penalty for an unplayable ball, rather than taking relief from an obstruction and therefore he can drop on a putting green or within a hazard if that point falls within the necessary criteria.
 
I believe he's dropping under penalty for an unplayable ball, rather than taking relief from an obstruction and therefore he can drop on a putting green or within a hazard if that point falls within the necessary criteria.

Thank you for the polite correction - you are absolutely correct in that neither 28 b or c have those restrictions.

My only excuse is that it's been a long confused day here - I should have considered my response more carefully.
 
Top