Naughty or not, thoughts

Tashyboy

Please don’t ask to see my tatts 👍
Joined
Dec 12, 2013
Messages
21,556
Visit site
So on our 10th, lhs has OOB. I pulled my drive and it hit a small banking and trundled up the path. Lhs of path is a naughty free drop. RHS is much better. I got to my ball on the path and it is a lhs drop.
A PP then proceeded to tell me I had to drop within a club length. Which I knew but if I saw a nice piece of grass at the side of the path, drop my ball on said patch and it rolled onto the path again, I had one more chance to do the same.If it rolled onto the path again. I could place my ball. I proceeded to do this and he said “there you go, place your ball”. He then went onto explain its gaining an advantage but it is within the rules and everyone that knows does it”. 🤔 bottom line even though I did it it never felt right. Two shots later on the same flippin hole I am dropping again from the same path. He said “ I could do it again”. I didn’t.
1, coz it never felt right
2, the crap area was ok anyway.
But is it a bit naughty or not, dropping the ball so you get a free placement or not.

Thoughts me dears.

PS off to see a Dire Straits tribute band for the next couple of hours so I won’t see owt til later.
 
Last edited:
So you took relief from the path and in the process of dropping the ball it kept moving so you had to place it ?

As long as you have taken full relief and it’s the nearest point of relief then I’m not sure the issue
 
The way you have described it Tashy it sounds fine to me.
You have mis-typed though and I don’t know if 2 or 10 shots later you were still on the path but either way that’s utter RAMMEL 😂
 
Sometimes you have to use the rules to your advantage. Knowing the rules at the right time can save you a shot or two
 
I also can't see a problem. If there is a slope in your nearest point of relief, and the ball rolls away twice when dropping there, you get to place it. That's simply the rule and there is nothing naughty about exercising that process. What's the alternative? Hitting it off the path? That would be stupid.
 
I also can't see a problem. If there is a slope in your nearest point of relief, and the ball rolls away twice when dropping there, you get to place it. That's simply the rule and there is nothing naughty about exercising that process. What's the alternative? Hitting it off the path? That would be stupid.
No within the one club drop zone. If it is to the max one club you are dropping it in a troublesome place re lack of club swing. The guy literally showed me to drop it 4” from the path so it was always going to roll on the path. 👍
 
No within the one club drop zone. If it is to the max one club you are dropping it in a troublesome place re lack of club swing. The guy literally showed me to drop it 4” from the path so it was always going to roll on the path. 👍
I may not be understanding your description properly, but dropping 'one club length' doesn't mean that you need to drop a whole club length away from the obstacle. It means you can drop anywhere within that club-length distance. So that includes a spot that's only 4 inches from the path.
 
So on our 10th, lhs has OOB. I pulled my drive and it hit a small banking and trundled up the path. Lhs of path is a naughty free drop. RHS is much better. I got to my ball on the path and it is a lhs drop.
A PP then proceeded to tell me I had to drop within a club length. Which I knew but if I saw a nice piece of grass at the side of the path, drop my ball on said patch and it rolled onto the path again, I had one more chance to do the same.If it rolled onto the path again. I could place my ball. I proceeded to do this and he said “there you go, place your ball”. He then went onto explain its gaining an advantage but it is within the rules and everyone that knows does it”. 🤔 bottom line even though I did it it never felt right. Two shots later on the same flippin hole I am dropping again from the same path. He said “ I could do it again”. I didn’t.
1, coz it never felt right
2, the crap area was ok anyway.
But is it a bit naughty or not, dropping the ball so you get a free placement or not.

Thoughts me dears.

PS off to see a Dire Straits tribute band for the next couple of hours so I won’t see owt til later.

The bit in bold is not quite right. You first find the nearest point of complete relief using the club you expect to play the next shot with, you may than take another club, often the driver to determine the one club length relief area ( a semi circle not closer to the hole) in which you must drop.

As to your points, when you drop it it MUST stay in the relief area and if if it fails to do so having tried twice yu get to place it where it first struck the ground on the second drop. This is not gaining an advantage it is playing by the rules.
 
No within the one club drop zone. If it is to the max one club you are dropping it in a troublesome place re lack of club swing. The guy literally showed me to drop it 4” from the path so it was always going to roll on the path. 👍

To me that sounds like he was either standing on the path when dropping the ball or the point where he was dropping would have meant you would have been standing on the path for the ball position. Taking relief for a ball on the path means finding the nearest point of relief where there is no interference for area of intended swing or stance. Unless of course the path was on the other side to the drop point relative to stance.
 
To me that sounds like he was either standing on the path when dropping the ball or the point where he was dropping would have meant you would have been standing on the path for the ball position. Taking relief for a ball on the path means finding the nearest point of relief where there is no interference for area of intended swing or stance. Unless of course the path was on the other side to the drop point relative to stance.
No I was facing the path as I was playing the shot. Not stood on it. 👍
 
If you were complying with the rules, which certainly seems to be the case, it is definitely not naughty. Simple.
 
To me that sounds like he was either standing on the path when dropping the ball or the point where he was dropping would have meant you would have been standing on the path for the ball position. Taking relief for a ball on the path means finding the nearest point of relief where there is no interference for area of intended swing or stance. Unless of course the path was on the other side to the drop point relative to stance.
Just for my own education Jim. If I don’t have a full swing without any interference. Could I go back towards the tee X Yards to drop the ball. 🤔
 
Just for my own education Jim. If I don’t have a full swing without any interference. Could I go back towards the tee X Yards to drop the ball. 🤔
Nearest point of complete relief no nearer (but the interference with a full swing would have to be from the abnormal course condition from which you were taking relief, not just something else getting in the way) - so, if you were still getting interference from the Abnormal Course Condition, you would have to go further from the hole which may or may or not be 'towards the tee'.
 
Just for my own education Jim. If I don’t have a full swing without any interference. Could I go back towards the tee X Yards to drop the ball. 🤔
You need to find the nearest point of complete relief that is not nearer the hole. "nearest point" means the point closest to the ball's original position. "complete relief" means no interference to the lie of the ball, area of intended stance and area of intended swing.
For a cart path, it would be rare that the nearest point of complete relief is more than two or three yards away from the original spot of the ball.
 
Just for my own education Jim. If I don’t have a full swing without any interference. Could I go back towards the tee X Yards to drop the ball. 🤔
As per others your actions very much depend on what you are taking relief from.

So a path is hardly like too cause interference to a full swing.

If you are taking relief using 'line' e.g unplayable lie, you must keep the point where the ball has come to rest and the hole in the line you take.
 
As per others your actions very much depend on what you are taking relief from.

So a path is hardly like too cause interference to a full swing.

If you are taking relief using 'line' e.g unplayable lie, you must keep the point where the ball has come to rest and the hole in the line you take.
Cheers Jim.
There are a few reasons why I posted the original question. One of them being the guy who mentioned the ruling. Let’s just say he has a history of being half right. The path in question runs alongside our 10th. It is a path/rd which the greenkeepers use with the machinery etc.
literally the length of the path from 100 yds from the tee is bramble etc on a raised area for about 150yds. 4-6ft left of the path is OOB. IF I read the ruling correctly it could well be the case that the nearest point of relief without interference could well be X number of yards back towards the tee. 👍
If that is the case. What would the ruling number be. 👍
 
Cheers Jim.
There are a few reasons why I posted the original question. One of them being the guy who mentioned the ruling. Let’s just say he has a history of being half right. The path in question runs alongside our 10th. It is a path/rd which the greenkeepers use with the machinery etc.
literally the length of the path from 100 yds from the tee is bramble etc on a raised area for about 150yds. 4-6ft left of the path is OOB. IF I read the ruling correctly it could well be the case that the nearest point of relief without interference could well be X number of yards back towards the tee. 👍
If that is the case. What would the ruling number be. 👍
The nearest point of complete relief could be on the other side of the path. I am assuming the bramble and the OB are on the same side?
 
The nearest point of complete relief could be on the other side of the path. I am assuming the bramble and the OB are on the same side?
And the nearest point of relief could be in the bramble or close to the OB. As noted in the above, it's the nearest point of complete relief, not the nicest point of complete relief. The Rule guarantees relief from the immovable obstruction, but does not guarantee that you can make a stroke after taking relief.
 
  • Like
Reactions: sjw
Top